New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Red Bull Indianapolis Grand Prix racing numbers

Red Bull Indianapolis Grand Prix racing numbers

Some key facts and figures relating to this weekend’s action at The Brickyard.

150 - Loris Capirossi’s fifth at Brno was the 150th time he has finished in a point scoring position in the premier-class. Only one rider has had more premier-class points scoring finishes – Alex Barros with 195.

56 - Valentino Rossi’s pole at Brno was the 56th time that he has started from pole across all classes of Grand Prix racing. This is exactly the same number of Grand Prix poles as his great rival Max Biaggi achieved during his Grand Prix career. Since 1973, when full pole position records are available, only one rider has started from pole on more occasions and that is Mick Doohan who started from pole on 58 occasions during his career.

33 years - The day of qualifying at Indianapolis will be the 33rd anniversary of Giacomo Agostini taking his last 500cc victory at the German Grand Prix in 1976, at the Nurburgring, riding an MV Agusta. This was also the very last 500cc win by a four-stroke motorcycle.

31 seconds - The pace of development of the 800cc MotoGP machines is illustrated by the race time at the Czech GP being 31 seconds faster than the previous best ever race time achieved by a 990cc MotoGP machine, which was by Loris Capirossi on a Ducati in 2006.

22 years - Race day at Indianapolis will be the 22nd anniversary of Aprilia taking their first GP win in the 250cc class at the San Marino GP in 1987, with Loris Reggiani.

15 - This will be the 15th occasion that there has been a motorcycle Grand Prix held in the USA. The first two events in 1964 and 1965 were held at the famous Daytona circuit. Eleven GP events have taken place at the Laguna Seca circuit and this is the second to be held at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

7 - Yamaha riders have been on pole at the last seven MotoGP races. This is the longest sequence of successive poles for Yamaha in the premier-class since 1986.

3 - Indianapolis is one of just three circuits on this year’s calendar where Ducati have not had a MotoGP win. The others are Estoril and Le Mans.

3 - Following the Czech GP, where Casey Stoner failed to start and Marco Melandri crashed out; there are now just three riders in the MotoGP class to have scored points at every race this year: Colin Edwards, Chris Vermeulen and Alex de Angelis.

3 - Valentino Rossi has started from pole at the last three MotoGP races. This equals his longest sequence of successive poles on a Yamaha which he achieved in the last two races of 2006 and first race of 2007.


Other updates you may be interested in ›