New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

First ever victory for Espargaró in 125cc Brickyard contest

First ever victory for Espargaró in 125cc Brickyard contest

An exciting 125cc race at the Red Bull Indianapolis Grand Prix concluded with a victory for Pol Espargaró.

A five-way battle which lasted for the majority of the Indianapolis 125cc race went down to the very last lap and ultimately ended with Pol Espargaró (Derbi Racing Team) earning his first Grand Prix win.

The 18 year-old Spaniard made up for his disappointment in last year’s event, when he just missed out on the win, by judging the race to perfection and holding off his rivals on the last lap to win by 0.120s from Briton Bradley Smith (Bancaja Aspar).

Simone Corsi (Fontana Racing) finished in third place, three tenths down on Smith, to claim his second podium of the season.

The front quintet crossed the finishing line with just 1.8s separating them, with Nico Terol (Jack & Jones Team) in fourth place and championship leader Julián Simón (Bancaja Aspar) fifth. The Spanish pair appeared to impede each other on the last lap when any of the front five could have taken victory and 2008 Indianapolis winner Terol will be particularly disappointed – having held the lead for much of the race.

The top ten also featured Marc Márquez (Red Bull KTM), Stefan Bradl (Viessmann Kiefer Racing), Joan Olivé (Derbi Racing Team), Takaaki Nakagami (Ongetta Team I.S.P.A.) and Dominique Aegerter (Ajo Interwetten).


Other updates you may be interested in ›