New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase Grande Premio de Portugal racing numbers Grande Premio de Portugal racing numbers

The Grand Prix racing numbers ahead of this weekend’s action at the Estoril circuit in Portugal.

56 years – On race day at Estoril it will be exactly 56 years since Fergus Anderson (Moto Guzzi) won the Spanish Grand Prix at Montjuich Park in 1953 to become the oldest rider ever to win a premier-class Grand Prix at the age of 44 years and 237 days.

50 – Valentino Rossi’s win at Misano was the 50th victory for Yamaha since the introduction of the four-stroke MotoGP formula at the start of 2002.

24 – Dani Pedrosa celebrated his 24th birthday on the Tuesday before the Grande Premio de Portugal.

19 – Rossi’s victory at Misano makes him the most successful rider of the 800cc era of MotoGP with 19 victories, one more than Casey Stoner.

10 – Rossi’s pole at Misano was the tenth pole of the year for Yamaha, equalling their best ever haul of premier-class poles in a single season which they achieved in both 1978 and 1988.

6 – Rossi has started from pole six times this year – the most poles he has had in a single season since joining Yamaha.

3 – Estoril is one of just three circuits on this year’s calendar where Ducati have not had a MotoGP win. The others are Indianapolis and Le Mans.

1 – Following the first lap crash at Misano that eliminated Colin Edwards and Alex de Angelis, Chris Vermeulen is now the only rider in the MotoGP class to have scored points at every race so far in 2009.


Other updates you may be interested in ›