New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

2010 Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Cup selection update

2010 Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Cup selection update

The line-up for the 2010 Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Cup has been announced, following a selection event this week in Italy.

They came from all over the World to the Italian track of Adria, near Venice, to show their skills in the hope of being invited to join the Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Cup for 2010.

Just seven teenagers made the cut and they can join the 18 Rookies retained from the 2009 Cup. Three reserves were also selected.

It was an intense day of testing in warm and humid conditions but the cool track in the early morning caught out some of the youngsters though there were no serious injuries. The initial 15 minute familiarisation session was followed by two 20 minute tests with groups of seven riders out on the track together.

An extremely high level of ability was represented from as far afield as New Zealand, Poland, Argentina, the Russian Federation, the USA and Brazil. Judges Gustl Auinger, Harald Bartol, Raul Jara and Peter Clifford made their selection and the results were announced to the riders before they left the circuit.

The invited riders are:
Florian Alt (Germany)
Niccolo Antonelli (Italy)
Antonio Chiari (Brazil)
Deni Cudic (Austria)
Brody Nowlan (Australia)
Xavier Pinsach (Spain)
Alan Techer (France)

Philipp Öttl (Germany) Reserve 1
James Flitcroft (England) Reserve 2
Tomas Vavrous (Czech Republic) Reserve 3

Rookies invited to continue from the 2009 cup are:
Brad Binder (South Africa)
Kevin Calia (Italy)
Alessio Cappella (Nigeria)
Xavier Figueras (Spain)
Jake Gagne (USA)
Daijiro Hiura (Japan)
Joshua Hook (Australia)
Danny Kent (England)
Alex Kristiansson (Sweden)
Taylor Mackenzie (Scotland)
Florian Marino (France)
Alejandro Pardo (Italy)
Fraser Rogers (England)
Daniel Ruiz (Spain)
Mathew Scholtz (South Africa)
Arthur Sissis (Australia)
Benny Solis (USA)
Harry Stafford (England)

MotoGP, 2009

Other updates you may be interested in ›