New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Terol opens 2010 with well-judged win

Terol opens 2010 with well-judged win

The Bancaja Aspar rider earned the third victory of his career in the season-opening Commercialbank Grand Prix of Qatar, with Vázquez and Márquez completing an all-Spanish podium.

The battle to succeed Julián Simón as 125cc World Champion commenced on Sunday as the 2010 season got underway with the opening race in Qatar. Under the floodlights of the Losail International Circuit it was Nico Terol who rode the perfect race to start his challenge for the title with a victory.

There was an absorbing duel from the very start as a group of seven riders initiated a close fight that was to last for much of the race. Efrén Vázquez (Tuenti Racing), starting on the front row of the grid for the first time in his career, led out of the first turn and swapped the lead with Marc Márquez (Red Bull Ajo Motorsport), Terol and Pol Espargaró (Tuenti Racing) at various stages as they separated themselves as the podium challengers.

Sandro Cortese (Avant Mitsubishi Ajo) and Randy Krummenacher (Stipa-Molenaar Racing) were amongst the seven frontrunners and had a moment when they touched bikes with seven laps completed. Vázquez also managed to hold onto his bike when he ran wide with six laps remaining, controlling his Derbi machine admirably.

The drama continued to unfold as the race neared its conclusion, and Márquez and Espargaró touched when the latter was trying to pass his rival on the outside as they fought to catch leader Terol.

It was the Bancaja Aspar rider, who managed to stay clear of the scrap behind him, that took the win however, with Vázquez taking the first podium of his career in second place and Márquez joining the pair after starting from pole position.

Espargaró, Cortese, Krummenacher and Esteve Rabat (Blusens-STX) completed the first seven positions, with last year’s Championship runner-up Bradley Smith (Bancaja Aspar) in eighth, some 13 seconds off the lead. Tomoyoshi Koyama (Racing Team Germany) and Alexis Masbou (Team Ongetta) made the top ten, with British rider Danny Webb 11th in his first race with the Andalucia Cajasol team.

The Lambretta Reparto Corse team experienced a disappointing start to their campaign as Luis Salom and Marco Ravaioli failed to finish, with Lorenzo Savadori (Matteoni CP Racing) also suffering the same fate.


Other updates you may be interested in ›