New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

125cc battle resumes in Spain

125cc battle resumes in Spain

The eighth-litre title hopefuls continue their fight for an early-season advantage, one which Nico Terol has established after victory in round one.

A thrilling start to the 2010 125cc World Championship was delivered in the opening round in Qatar, and the talented youngsters who are all bidding to succeed Julián Simón as the next eighth-litre Champion will enter competition once more at Jerez.

Nico Terol heads the standings after just one round courtesy of his tactically sound ride at Losail, where he led an all-Spanish podium, and he will try to replicate his result at the Gran Premio bwin de España. Jerez is a track at which the Bancaja Aspar rider has only recently experienced notable success, with a best finish of second in 2008. He will also be brimming with confidence after the third win of his career in Qatar.

Pol Espargaró (Tuenti Racing) has a best result of fourth (2007) at Jerez, and will hope to step up after just missing out on the top-three in Qatar. Marc Márquez (Red Bull Ajo Motorsport) completed the podium in 2009 at Jerez and got his 2010 campaign off to a strong start with third in Qatar. Both youngsters will be going for victory as they take the battle to Terol.

Others who will fancy their chances of getting some valuable Championship points will be Efrén Vázquez (Tuenti Racing), especially after the first podium of his career in Qatar, Sandro Cortese (Avant Mitsubishi Ajo) and 2009 World Championship runner-up Bradley Smith. The British rider of the Bancaja Aspar team will be determined to find his race pace and launch his 2010 title ambitions.

Along with the rest of the 125cc World Championship field there will be four wildcard entries taking part in the race, with three Spaniards in Isaac Viñales (Catalunya Racing Team), Juan Perello (SAG Castrol) and Johny Rosell (SAG Castrol) being joined by Dutch rider Michael van der Mark (Team Sachsenring).

The Gran Premio bwin de España takes place from April 30th-May 2nd, with the opening practice session in the 125cc class taking place on Friday 30th at 12.40pm local time.

125cc, 2010, GRAN PREMIO bwin DE ESPAÑA

Other updates you may be interested in ›