New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Márquez secures Jerez pole with record lap

Márquez secures Jerez pole with record lap

The Red Bull Ajo Motorsport rider secured pole position for Sunday’s 125cc race at the Gran Premio bwin de España, with Espargaró, Vázquez and Rabat joining him on the front row.

Marc Márquez (Red Bull Ajo Motorsport) will start the Gran Premio bwin de España at Jerez from pole position on Sunday, after breaking a five-year-old 125cc pole position record at the track. The young Spaniard’s hot lap of 1’46.829 took over a tenth off Mattia Pasini’s 2006 record, and secured him his second consecutive pole of the new season.

Joining him on the front row of an all-Spanish grid will be Pol Espargaró (+0.104s), who dominated both practice sessions but was unable to better Márquez’s stunning time in QP. His Tuenti Racing team-mate Efrén Vázquez (+0.446s) and Esteve Rabat (Blusens-STX), who was just over half a second off Márquez’s time, occupied the remaining top-four spots.

The second row of the grid will be made up of early Championship leader Nico Terol (Bancaja Aspar) and Sandro Cortese (Avant Mitsubishi Ajo), with British duo Bradley Smith (Bancaja Aspar) and Danny Webb (Andalucia Cajasol) securing top-eight times too. Webb’s team-mate Alberto Moncayo and Swiss rider Randy Krummenacher (Stipa-Molenaar Racing) registered inside the top ten.

There were crashes in the session for Malaysian rider Khairuddin Zulfahmi (AirAsia - Sepang International Circuit Team) at Turn 9 and Lorenzo Savadori (Matteoni C.P. Racing) at Turn 13.

125cc, 2010, GRAN PREMIO bwin DE ESPAÑA, QP

Other updates you may be interested in ›