New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Oliveira, Morales, Forés and Robles succeed at Jerez in CEV Buckler

Oliveira, Morales, Forés and Robles succeed at Jerez in CEV Buckler

A sensational day of racing took place at the Jerez circuit yesterday as the third round of the 2010 CEV Buckler was attended by more than 16,000 spectators.

In the 125GP class, Portuguese rider Miguel Oliveira secured his first victory in the CEV after finishing second on five previous occasions. Alex Rins placed second, thus proving that his victory at Montmeló was no fleeting success, whilst third was taken by Maverick Viñales who started from pole but had to mount a stirring comeback from last place after his Aprilia stalled when the lights went out. With victory Oliveira took the leadership of the Championship, eight points ahead of Viñales and 10 in front of Rins.

In Moto2 Carmelo Morales appeared determined to recover lost ground suffered in the first race of the year, when a technical problem meant he scored no points. Morales imposed himself in a race which was thrilling from the start, with constant changes at the front of the field in a battle that involved five riders. Only Kev Coghlan was able to follow, bringing excitement to the race when he overtook on the final lap, but Morales responded to take his first win of the year.

After the race technical scrutineers checked the bike of Coghlan and found irregularities that resulted in his exclusion. That moved Dani Rivas, who had suffered a puncture on the final lap but was able to maintain his place on the podium, up to second place, with Iván Moreno taking third ahead of Cardús and Ramos. Rivas maintains top spot in the Championship, with Morales moving into second, 11 points behind.

In Stock Extreme Javier del Amor tried all means possible to surprise Javier Forés, who demonstrated in the practice sessions that he was one step ahead of his rivals. After an excellent start Del Amor set a fast pace as he tried to lose the Championship leader, even improving on his times from the earlier sessions. The resistance lasted five laps however before Forés took the lead and maintained a pace that nobody could match, taking his third successive win of the season. Third place went to Santiago Barragán, who is the highest placed private rider.

The Kawasaki Ninja Cup race was won by Erik Robles, who did not have an easy victory as he was pushed all the way by Alex Mariñelarena. Third at 12 seconds off the front two was Antonio Rodas. Leader of the overall standings Adrián Menchén was fourth, and Mariñelarena now trails him by just two points.

The next round of the 2010 CEV Buckler will be on July 11th at the new circuit of Motorland Aragón at Alcañiz.

More information on the race classifications and the Championship can be found on the official website

MotoGP, 2010

Other updates you may be interested in ›