New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

AirAsia British Grand Prix racing numbers

AirAsia British Grand Prix racing numbers

A collection of facts and statistics ahead of the fifth round of the 2010 MotoGP World Championship at the Silverstone circuit.

150 – At the AirAsia British Grand Prix former 125cc World Champion Gabor Talmacsi is scheduled to make his 150th Grand Prix start. Talmacsi made his GP debut as a wildcard rider at the Czech GP in 2000 before becoming a full-time Grand Prix rider at the start of the 2001 season.

45 years ago – On the first day of practice at Silverstone it will be exactly 45 years since Mike Hailwood won the 500cc race in the Isle of Man in 1965 after crashing in the heavy rain and re-starting.

31 – Kenny Noyes will celebrate his 31st birthday on the first day of practice at Silverstone.

12 – The first 12 riders across the line in the Moto2 race at Mugello were all former Grand Prix winners.

11 years ago – Race day at Silverstone will be the 11th anniversary of Alex Criville winning the Catalan GP in 1999 having won the previous three races at Jerez, Paul Ricard and Mugello. This was the first time that a European rider had won four successive 500cc races since Giacomo Agostini in 1972.

9 – Dani Pedrosa’s victory at the Italian Grand Prix means he has now won at least one Grand Prix for nine successive seasons. Only seven other riders have won GP races in nine or more successive seasons: Valentino Rossi, Max Biaggi, Angel Nieto, Giacomo Agostini, Luca Cadalora, Mick Doohan and Stefan Dorflinger.

9 – Dani Pedrosa’s win in Italy was his ninth victory in the MotoGP class. This is the same number of wins in the premier-class as Sete Gibernau. The only Spanish rider with more victories in the premier-class is Alex Criville with 15.

0.161 seconds – The time covering the first four riders across the line in the 125cc race at Mugello. This is the third closest top four of all-time in the 125cc class; the only two races that have been closer have also been at Mugello, in 2007 and 2008.


Other updates you may be interested in ›