New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Márquez takes third pole of 2010

Márquez takes third pole of 2010

The young Red Bull Ajo Motorsport rider secured pole position with a flying final lap in qualifying on Saturday afternoon at Silverstone, with home rider Bradley Smith, Pol Espargaró and Championship leader Nico Terol all on the front row.

Marc Márquez will start the 125cc AirAsia British Grand Prix from pole position on Sunday after topping qualifying at Silverstone, a best time of 2’14.667 on his final lap of the 40-minute session securing him his third pole of the 2010 campaign.

The late effort from Márquez pushed him in front of Bradley Smith (Bancaja Aspar), who had become the first 125cc rider of the weekend to go under 2’15” with his 2’14.966 on his penultimate lap. That placed the Brit second, 0.146s ahead of Pol Espargaró (Tuenti Racing), with Championship leader Nico Terol (Bancaja Aspar) nine-tenths off Márquez’s pace as he completed the front row.

Johann Zarco (WTR San Marino Team), Esteve Rabat (Blusens-STX), Tomoyoshi Koyama (Racing Team Germany) and British rider Danny Webb (Andalucia Cajasol) will all start from the second row as they placed fifth to eighth in the session.

The 125cc race is due to start at 2.30pm local time on Sunday.


Other updates you may be interested in ›