New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Iannone seals second win of 2010 with clear triumph

Iannone seals second win of 2010 with clear triumph

The Fimmco Speed Up rider took victory from pole position for the second time this season as he won the TIM TT Assen Moto2 race. Championship leader Elías was second, with Lüthi third.

Andrea Iannone was strong from start to finish once more in the Moto2 class as he took victory from pole position at the TIM TT Assen on Saturday. The Italian of the Fimmco Speed Up team, who won from pole in his home GP at Mugello in round four, topped every session in the lead up to the race and was again on top as he won with a margin of victory of just under five seconds.

Ratthapark Wilairot (Thai Honda PTT Singha-SAG) got off to a flying start from his best-ever grid position of second and led into Turn 1, and Toni Elías (Gresini Racing) rose from his place on the second row to slide into third as he stepped immediately into the contest. However, poleman Iannone quickly assumed the lead and started to open up a gap as he had done at Mugello.

Fonsi Nieto (G22 Holiday Gym) made a good start and was in the running early on but his presence at the front appeared to aid Iannone’s ability to open up an advantage at the front, as the following pack contested positions. Elías moved up into second on lap three and began to try and close up what was already a 2.3s gap to Iannone.

Valentin Debise (WTR San Marino Team) took a ride-through penalty due to a jumpstart and Nieto then crashed and entered the pits, whilst Anthony West (MZ Racing) began to encounter some technical issues that saw him return to his garage twice.

In fourth place and preparing to play an important role was Thomas Lüthi (Interwetten Moriwaki Racing), whilst behind him Julián Simón (Mapfre Aspar), Jules Cluzel (Forward Racing) and Shoya Tomizawa (Technomag-CIP) competed for fifth. Arne Tode (Racing Team Germany) was the next crasher and was forced to retire from the race.

Meanwhile Elías and Wilairot continued to engage in a progressive battle for second place as they swapped places on a number of occasions, but all the while Lüthi was tracking the pair down as he narrowed the gap and soon caught up. Roberto Rolfo (Italtrans STR) and Lukas Pesek (Matteoni CP Racing) were the two latest retirees.

As Iannone rode a lonely race at the front Lüthi and Wilairot began to open up a fantastic duel for the final podium spot as they exchanged positions countless times, right up until the final lap.

Iannone eventually crossed the line 4.492s ahead of Elías, with Lüthi managing to hold onto third to complete the podium as Wilairot placed fourth. Tomizawa and Simón completed the top six, with a substantial eight-second gap back to seventh placed Cluzel who was followed by Mike di Meglio (Mapfre Aspar), Karel Abraham (Cardion AB Motoracing) and Yuki Takahashi (Tech3 Racing) in the top ten.

Elías extended his lead at the top of the Championship to 24 points as he moved onto 100, with Tomizawa (76) and Lüthi (74) maintaining second and third respectively. Iannone’s win moved him up to fourth on 67 points.

Absent from the race were Alex Debón (Aeroport de Castelló-Ajo)and Axel Pons (Tenerife 40 Pons), who were both injured in Friday’s qualifying session.

Moto2, 2010, TIM TT ASSEN, RAC

Other updates you may be interested in ›