New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Gran Premi Aperol de Catalunya racing numbers

Gran Premi Aperol de Catalunya racing numbers

A selection of interesting facts and statistics ahead of round seven of the 2010 MotoGP World Championship at Montmeló.

149 – The win by Marc Marquez at the Dutch TT was the 149th Grand Prix victory by Spanish riders in the 125cc class.

39 years ago – Race day in Barcelona will be 39 years ago to the day that Barry Sheene, at just his sixth GP event, took his first Grand Prix victory in the 125cc race in Belgium in 1971.

19 – This will be the 19th successive year that the Circuit de Catalunya has been used since it was first included in the Motorcycle Grand Prix series in 1992. Only three current venues have a longer ongoing sequence of hosting Grand Prix events; Jerez, Mugello and Assen.

9 – Jorge Lorenzo’s victory at the Dutch TT was his ninth win in the premier class, which is the same number of victories as fellow Spanish riders Dani Pedrosa and Sete Gibernau. The only Spanish rider with more premier class wins is Àlex Crivillé with 15.

9 – Valentino Rossi is the most successful rider at the Catalunya circuit with nine victories (one in the 125cc class, two in 250cc, one in 500cc, and five in MotoGP). The next most successful is Max Biaggi who has won at this circuit on four occasions – all in the 250cc class.

5 – Derbi riders have won the last five races in the 125cc category. This equals the longest ever sequence of successive 125cc GP wins achieved by Derbi, in 1988.

4 – Yamaha have been the most successful manufacturer at the Catalunya circuit during the four-stroke MotoGP era with four victories. Honda and Ducati have each won twice in the MotoGP class at the Catalunya Grand Prix.

1 – Valentino Rossi’s victory in 2006 is the only occasion that the MotoGP race at Catalunya has been won from pole position.


Other updates you may be interested in ›