New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Laguna Seca racing numbers

Laguna Seca racing numbers

Facts, stats and figures to make sure you are fully informed ahead of the Red Bull U.S. Grand Prix this weekend!

190 – Randy de Puniet suffered a fractured left tibia and fibula in the crash at the German Grand Prix which will cause him to miss the race in the USA. This will bring to an end an impressive run of 190 successive GP starts for De Puniet, who has never missed a race since becoming a full-time Grand Prix rider in 1999.

67 – Following the German Grand Prix there have been 67 MotoGP races without a winner from the USA, the last being Nicky Hayden at Laguna Seca in 2006.

34 years ago – Race day at Laguna Seca will be the 34th anniversary of Barry Sheene winning the Swedish Grand Prix at Anderstorp in 1976, a victory which clinched his first World title and gave Suzuki their first 500cc title success.

33 – Dani Pedrosa’s win at the German Grand Prix was the 33rd win of his Grand Prix career across all classes – all of which have been on Honda machinery. This is the same number of Grand Prix wins that Valentino Rossi achieved when riding Honda bikes. Only three riders have won more Grand Prix races for Honda – Mick Doohan (54 wins), Jim Redman (45 wins) and Mike Hailwood (41 wins).

16 years ago – On the day of qualifying at Laguna Seca, it will be exactly 16 years ago that Kevin Schwantz won the 500cc race at Donington Park in 1994, after suffering a huge high-side crash during qualifying. That was the last of his 25 Grand Prix victories.

15 – The number of previous World Championship Grand Prix events held in the USA. The first two GP events held in the United States in 1964 and 1965 took place at the Daytona circuit, there have been 11 held at the Laguna Seca circuit and for the past two years Indianapolis has also been host to motorcycle Grand Prix racing.

10 – Dani Pedrosa’s victory at the German GP was his tenth win in the premier class, which is the same number of victories as great rival Jorge Lorenzo. The only Spanish rider with more premier class wins is Álex Crivillé with 15.

8 – Jorge Lorenzo has finished on the podium at each of the first eight races of the year, joining an elite group of riders who have achieved this previously in the premier class: Giacomo Agostini, Wayne Rainey, Mick Doohan, Kevin Schwantz and Valentino Rossi.

7 – Spanish riders have won the last seven MotoGP races, which is the longest ever sequence of successive premier class victories by Spain as a nation. However there is still some way to go to challenge the record of 28 successive premier class wins by the USA starting with Freddie Spencer’s victory at Mugello in 1982.

4 – After the German Grand Prix, just four riders have scored points at every one of the first eight MotoGP races of the year – Jorge Lorenzo, Dani Pedrosa, Andrea Dovizioso and Héctor Barberá.

3 – The same three riders (Lorenzo, Pedrosa and Stoner) have finished on the MotoGP podium at the last three races.

1 – Valentino Rossi has not started from pole at Laguna Seca. It is the only one of the current circuits, at which he has taken part in a Grand Prix, where has not had a pole in the premier class.


Other updates you may be interested in ›