New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Brno racing numbers

Brno racing numbers

A selection of interesting facts and statistics to get you up to speed in preparation for the Cardion ab Grand Prix Czech Republic this weekend.

100 – Marc Márquez’s victory at the German Grand Prix was the 100th Grand Prix win for Derbi. Derbi are just the sixth manufacturer in the 62-year history of Grand Prix racing to reach that milestone.

58 – Jorge Lorenzo’s victory at Laguna Seca was the 58th victory for Yamaha since the introduction of the four-stroke MotoGP class at the start of 2002. Yamaha now have one more GP win than great rivals Honda during the four-stroke MotoGP era.

49 – Following Jorge Lorenzo’s win in the USA, Spain have had 49 victories in the premier class of Grand Prix racing. One more win will make Spain only the fifth nation to reach the milestone of 50 GP wins in the premier class. The other nations to pass this milestone are Italy, USA, Great Britain and Australia.

39 – Qualifying day at the Czech Grand Prix will be the 39th anniversary of Jack Findlay winning the 500cc race at the Ulster Grand Prix in 1971 at the Dundrod circuit riding a Suzuki. This was the first ever 500cc win by a two-stroke motorcycle.

10 – Casey Stoner has gone ten successive races without a victory, representing his longest barren spell since joining the Ducati factory team.

7 – Derbi riders have won the last seven races in the 125cc class – the longest ever sequence of successive Grand Prix wins for Derbi.

7 years – Lucio Cecchinello’s 125cc lap record, set in 2003 at Brno, still stands. This is the longest standing lap record across all three classes on the current Grand Prix calendar.

4 – Since the introduction of the four-stroke MotoGP class in 2002, Yamaha have been the most successful manufacturer at the Brno circuit with four wins, followed by Honda and Ducati each with two victories. Sete Gibernau’s victory in 2004 was the last time that a Honda rider won the MotoGP race at Brno.

2 – With the crash of Dani Pedrosa and the non-finish for Hector Barberá at Laguna Seca, there are now just two riders who have scored points at every MotoGP race in 2010: Jorge Lorenzo and Andrea Dovizioso.


Other updates you may be interested in ›