New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Terol takes first career back-to-back victories with Indy win

Terol takes first career back-to-back victories with Indy win

The Bancaja Aspar rider’s third win of the 2010 campaign in the 125cc Red Bull Indianapolis Grand Prix cut Championship leader Marc Márquez’s advantage to four points. Cortese and Espargaró completed the podium.

Nico Terol’s first consecutive GP wins came with victory at Indianapolis on Sunday as the Bancaja Aspar rider won the 125cc contest, his third of the season and on the same track he won his first World Championship race in 2008.

Terol eventually crossed the line 4.995s clear of Sandro Cortese (Avant Mitsubishi Ajo), with Pol Espargaró (Tuenti Racing) completing the podium in what was a typically eventful 125cc race.

Marc Márquez (Red Bull Ajo Motorsport) looked to be pulling away to a dominant victory in the early part of the race and on lap seven he set a new lap record and was soon over 2.5s clear of Terol. However, a crash at turn ten with 15 laps remaining saw Márquez scrambling back onto his Derbi and he returned to the race in 14th place, as Terol assumed first position.

Bradley Smith was riding hard and had climbed to second but with 11 laps remaining the Bancaja Aspar rider crashed at turn 11, thus ending his race and also a run of having scored points in every round this season. That elevated Cortese and Espargaró into second and third.

The drama was not finished there however and on the penultimate lap Márquez cut the track when in eighth position, crossing the finish line in fifth with Efrén Vázquez in fourth. The incident was examined by Race Direction and the decision was to penalise Márquez 20 seconds, meaning he was demoted to 10th position for the race.

That meant that the top eight was completed by Esteve Rabat (Blusens-STX), Danny Webb (Andalucia Cajasol), Randy Krummenacher (Stipa Molenaar) and Alberto Moncayo (Andalucia Cajasol).

Terol’s win was the 20th successive 125cc victory for Spanish riders, and moved him into second in the overall standings on 168 points, with Márquez on 172. Espargaró is third on 167 points, with Smith remaining fourth on 115.

Other riders failing to finish the race after crashes were Marcel Schrötter (Interwetten Honda 125), Khairuddin Zulfahmi (AirAsia - Sepang International Circuit Team) and Tomoyoshi Koyama (Racing Team Germany).


Other updates you may be interested in ›