New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Misano racing numbers

Misano racing numbers

Time to bring out your statistical side ahead of the Gran Premio Aperol di San Marino e della Riviera di Rimini, with the most interesting facts and figures for Round 12.

327 – With the return of Hiroshi Aoyama to the MotoGP field at Indianapolis, the entry list was back at full strength, with a combined total of Grand Prix victories of 327 at the start of the race. This sets a new record for accumulated Grand Prix wins for all riders starting a race which was previously 319, at Le Mans earlier this year.

27 years – Qualifying day at Misano will be the 27th anniversary of Freddie Spencer becoming the youngest ever 500cc World Champion in 1983 by finishing second to Kenny Roberts in the final race of the year, which was the San Marino Grand Prix held at Imola.

24 – Efrén Vázquez celebrates his 24th birthday on the Thursday prior to the San Marino Grand Prix. Thomas Lüthi’s 24th birthday is on the Monday following the Grand Prix.

13 – Misano has staged Grand Prix events on 13 previous occasions, the first of which was in 1980. On the ten occasions that a GP was hosted at Misano up to 1993, the races were run in the opposite direction around the circuit to those held in the last three years.

12 – Jorge Lorenzo has finished on the podium at the last 12 successive MotoGP races, including the final race of 2009 at Valencia. In the 62-year history of motorcycle Grand Prix racing only four riders have finished on the podium at more than 12 successive premier class races; Valentino Rossi, Giacomo Agostini, Mick Doohan and Wayne Rainey.

12 – There have been 12 previous San Marino Grand Prix events. The first San Marino Grand Prix was held at Imola in 1981. Three different circuits have hosted the San Marino Grand Prix – Imola twice (1981 & 1983), Mugello four times (1982, 84, 91 and 93) and Misano on six occasions (1985, 86, 87, 2007, 2008 and 2009).

9 – Valentino Rossi has won nine MotoGP races on Italian soil – seven at Mugello and two at Misano.

5 – Following the Indianapolis Grand Prix, just five points cover the top three riders in the 125cc Championship standings. Since the current scoring system was introduced in 1993, this is the smallest points margin covering the top three riders in the 125cc class after ten races.

3 – Dani Pedrosa’s victory at the Indianapolis Grand Prix was his third win of the year. This is one more win than he has achieved in each of the four previous seasons he has competed in the MotoGP class.


Other updates you may be interested in ›