New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Repsol Honda Team reaches 250 podiums

Repsol Honda Team reaches 250 podiums

Between 1995 and 2010 the Honda Factory team has claimed, along with Repsol, eight premier-class world titles, 90 wins and with the second place achieved by Andrea Dovizioso at Motegi on Sunday, 250 podiums.

The second place achieved by Andrea Dovizioso in the Grand Prix of Japan on Sunday has become the most recent podium on a list that started 16 years ago, with Mick Doohan’s victory at the Australian circuit Eastern Creek. A list made up of great riders like Dani Pedrosa, Alex Crivillé and Valentino Rossi reflects the result of the partnership between HRC and Repsol, forming the longest-running and most successful team in the history of the Motorcycling World Championship.

In all of the cylinder capacities (500cc, 990cc and 800cc) that the premier class has had, the Repsol Honda Team has been a benchmark in the paddock since 1995, when Mick Doohan, Álex Crivillé and Shinichi Itoh went out on the track for the first time on their Honda NSR 500 machines painted in the bright colours of Repsol, which have become characteristic of the factory machines of the gold wing company.

During this time, the rider that has claimed the most podium finishes is no less than Mick Doohan, with 35 wins, 13 second places and curiously, no third places between 1995 and 1999, the year in which he retired. Just behind him is Dani Pedrosa who, since his debut in the premier class in 2006, has stood on one of the three podium steps 47 times, one less than the Australian. Alex Crivillé, Valentino Rossi, Tadayuki Okada, Shinichi Itoh, Takuma Aoki, Sete Gibernau, Tohru Ukawa, Alex Barros, Max Biaggi, Nicky Hayden and Andrea Dovizioso complete the list of names that over these 16 years have stepped on the podium wearing the colours of the Spanish company.

Repsol Honda press release


Other updates you may be interested in ›