New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Phillip Island racing numbers

Phillip Island racing numbers

Your regular fix of stats and facts before the weekend as the Iveco Australian Grand Prix approaches.

25 – Casey Stoner celebrates his 25th birthday on the day qualifying takes place at Phillip Island.

24 – Spanish riders have won the last twenty-four 125cc Grand Prix races. The last non-Spanish winner in the 125cc class was Andrea Iannone at the Catalan Grand Prix last year. This is the longest sequence of successive 125cc GP wins by one nation in the 62-year history of Grand Prix racing.

21 – Valentino Rossi’s victory at Sepang was his 21st since the introduction of the 800cc capacity limit in MotoGP. This is just one victory less than Casey Stoner, who is the most successful rider of the 800cc era in terms of Grand Prix wins.

11 – The victory by Marc Márquez at the Malaysian GP was the 11th victory of the year in the 125cc class by Derbi riders. This is the highest number of wins achieved in a single season by Derbi in the 125cc class.

8 – Australian riders have taken eight premier-class victories in their home Grand Prix; Wayne Gardner at Phillip Island in 1989 and 1990, Mick Doohan at Eastern Creek in 1992 and 1995 and Phillip Island in 1998, and Casey Stoner for the last three years at Phillip Island.

6 years 161 days – The length of time between Roberto Rolfo’s last GP win in the 250cc class at Jerez in 2004 and his Moto2 victory in Malaysia.

5 – Following his win in Malaysia, Marc Marquez moves back to the top of the 125cc Championship standings. This is the fifth time this year that the leadership of the World Championship classification has changed in the 125cc class.

3 – Since the four-stroke MotoGP formula was introduced in 2002, Ducati and Honda have each had three MotoGP wins at Phillip Island and Yamaha have had two victories.

3 – Phillip Island is one of just three current circuits where Yamaha have not had a win since the introduction of the 800cc capacity limit; the other two are Valencia and Aragón.


Other updates you may be interested in ›