Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Derbi secures 125cc Constructors Title

Derbi secures 125cc Constructors Title

Marc Márquez’s victory at the Iveco Australian Grand Prix on Sunday delivered the Spanish manufacturer the title, 22 years after its previous one.

With victory in the 125cc race at Phillip Island on Sunday, Red Bull Ajo Motorsport rider Marc Márquez secured Spanish manufacturer Derbi the 125cc Constructors Title for 2010. The 17 year-old’s 25-point haul – his ninth victory this season – ensured that Derbi cannot mathematically be overhauled in the remaining two rounds of the season.

The result also signalled Derbi’s 20th title, a statistic which comprises nine Constructors Titles and 11 riders who have collected individual World Championship Titles on board their machinery.

With 15 rounds of the 17 completed in the 2010 calendar riders on Derbi machinery have collected 360 points so far, taking on average 24 points in every race. Their tally to date this season leaves them with a 57-point advantage over Aprilia, who have dominated the 125cc category in recent years.

Prior to 2010 the last time Derbi took the 125cc Constructors Title was in 1988, a season in which Jorge Martínez ‘Aspar’ won nine of the 11 rounds on the calendar. With his win on Sunday Márquez equalled Martínez’s record as the Spanish rider with the most wins in a single season in the 125cc class, and has two more rounds – Estoril and Valencia – in which to surpass it and claim the Riders’ Championship as well.

Confirmation of Derbi’s Constructors Title on Sunday is the fourth in the 125cc category for the Spanish factory – founded in 1922 – accompanying those achieved in 1971, 1972 and 1988. Titles in the 80cc (1986, 1987 and 1988) and 50cc (1969 and 1970) classes make up the total of nine across all three categories.

Márquez’s nine wins this year (including Derbi’s 100th at Sachsenring) and Pol Espargaró’s three have been the major contributions to the 2010 achievement, with podium finishes from Efrén Vázquez and Sandro Cortese also adding to the accomplishment. Riders who have become Champions on Derbi bikes have included Martínez (who took 32 wins on Derbi machinery), Ángel Nieto (30), Youichi Ui (11), Jorge Lorenzo (four) and Mike di Meglio (four).

125cc, 2010

Other updates you may be interested in ›