New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Third consecutive Title for Fiat Yamaha

Third consecutive Title for Fiat Yamaha

For the third season in succession the Team Title was secured by the factory outfit with the results at Phillip Island.

Jorge Lorenzo and Valentino Rossi's podium finishes in the Iveco Australian Grand Prix last weekend secured Fiat Yamaha the Team Championship Title for 2010, the third straight year the duo have helped the factory outfit to the award.

With second place for Lorenzo who in the previous round was crowned World Champion – and third for Rossi at Phillip Island, Fiat Yamaha became the first to win the MotoGP Team Championship for three successive years.

With two rounds of the 2010 World Championship remaining Fiat Yamaha have amassed a total of 531 points. If they collect 37 in the remaining two rounds in Portugal and Valencia, they will improve on the current record total that they themselves set last year.

Contributing to this year's achievement have been the nine wins that Lorenzo (seven) and Rossi (two) have taken from the 16 rounds to date, and the pair have achieved 22 podiums between them so far this year (Lorenzo with 14, Rossi with eight), the only race this season where neither stood on the rostrum being Aragón.

The achievement also came despite the absence of Rossi for four races earlier in the campaign.


Other updates you may be interested in ›