New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

bwin Grande Premio de Portugal racing numbers

bwin Grande Premio de Portugal racing numbers

As Round 17 at Estoril approached provides you with some facts and figures to prepare yourself with.

39 – Following the Australian Grand Prix, Yamaha have a 39-point lead in the MotoGP Constructor’s Championship. Yamaha would clinch the MotoGP Constructor’s Title in Portugal if any of their riders finish in the top five, irrespective of the result of other manufacturers. This would be the 13th Constructor’s Title in the premier class for Yamaha.

33 – Thirty-three GP victories for Spain so far this year is the highest number of wins that Spanish riders have taken in a single season of racing. Only Great Britain has had more Grand Prix wins in a single season. Great Britain’s record for number of wins by riders from a single nation in one season stands at 37, which was achieved in 1967.

25 – Spanish riders have won the last twenty-five 125cc Grand Prix races. The last non-Spanish winner in the 125cc class was Andrea Iannone at the Catalan Grand Prix last year. This is the longest sequence of successive 125cc GP wins by one nation in the 62-year history of Grand Prix racing.

12 – Dani Pedrosa has had 12 MotoGP victories. One more victory would give him the same number of premier class wins as Randy Mamola and Max Biaggi, who are the two riders with most premier class wins without winning the World Title.

12 – The victory by Marc Márquez at the Australian GP was the 12th victory of the year in the 125cc class by Derbi riders. This is the highest number of wins achieved in a single season by Derbi in the 125cc class.

8.598 seconds – Casey Stoner’s margin of victory at the Australian GP was the biggest gap between first and second in a dry MotoGP race since Jorge Lorenzo won the Indianapolis GP last year by over nine seconds.


Other updates you may be interested in ›