New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Spanish rider to be crowned 125cc Champion on home soil

Spanish rider to be crowned 125cc Champion on home soil

Either Marc Márquez or Nico Terol will be confirmed as the 125cc World Champion at Valencia this weekend, with the former of the two holding a 17-point lead over his rival going into the final round of the 2010 season.

The 2010 125cc World Championship will be decided this weekend at the Gran Premio Generali de la Comunitat Valenciana, where the home crowd will see a Spanish rider claim the title. Seventeen points separate leader Marc Márquez and now his only title rival Nico Terol, following a thrilling previous round in Portugal.

In a highly eventful Estoril appointment Red Bull Ajo Motorsport rider Márquez took his tenth win of the season, and this weekend could equal Valentino Rossi’s 1997 record as the rider with the most wins in the 125cc class in a single season (11). Such a result would emphatically deliver him the title, and if the 17 year-old were to accomplish the achievement he would become the second youngest World Champion ever.

Márquez has only raced once before at Valencia, last year, when he placed 17th following a crash when fighting for fourth, whilst Terol has a best finish of second in 2008. If Terol were to win the race Márquez would need to finish no lower than eighth to claim the title.

Pol Espargaró’s title hopes ended in Portugal but the Tuenti Racing rider will still be going for victory as he aims to sign off from the 125cc class in winning style, while Bradley Smith is still in search of his first win of the season and will likewise want a winning end to the 125cc chapter of his World Championship career.

Meanwhile Efrén Vázquez (Tuenti Racing), Esteve Rabat (Blusens-STX) and Sandro Cortese (Avant Mitsubishi Ajo) are still contesting positions five to seven. Niklas Ajo (Ajo Motorsport), Juan Perello (SAG Castrol), Jonny Rosell (SAG Castrol), John McPhee (KRP Bradley Smith Racing) and Taylor Mackenzie (KRP MMCG) are the five wild card entries at Round 17.


Other updates you may be interested in ›