New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Lüthi leads the way before rain strikes at Jerez

Lüthi leads the way before rain strikes at Jerez

The Swiss rider was fastest by midday on the opening day of the Test, getting well under the 2010 pole position lap time. Nico Terol topped the 125cc order before the riders were forced off track by rain.

The opening morning’s action of the Moto2 and 125cc Test at Jerez was welcomed by sun and cool temperatures, as the intermediate category rolled out with their official Honda 600cc engines for the first time this pre-season.

First on track was Kenan Sofuoglu (Technomag-CIP) who exited Pit Lane just before 10.30am with the track measuring a relatively cool 22ºC, and by midday the Turkish rider was 15th quickest with a time of 1’46.552. Leading the timings at that stage was Swissman Tom Lüthi (Interwetten Paddock Moto2), whose effort of 1’43.802 was just under six-tenths of a second faster than Shoya Tomizawa’s 2010 pole position time.

As midday struck the sun that had been present shortly before disappeared and a rain shower arrived, leaving Lüthi 0.139s ahead of Marc VDS Racing rider Scott Redding, with Gresini Racing’s Yuki Takahashi (+0.546s on Lüthi), Stefan Bradl of Viessmann Kiefer Racing (+0.708s) and Jules Cluzel of Forward Racing (+0.839s) completing the top five and the final riders within a full second of the top time.

Alex de Angelis (JiR Moto2), Marc Márquez (Team Catalunya Caixa Repsol), Andrea Iannone (Speed Master), Aleix Espargaró (Pons Racing) and Mika Kallio (Marc VDS Racing) were all inside the top ten by midday as well. Returning to action for the first time in pre-season, Ratthapark Wilairot (Thai Honda Singha-SAG) rode seven laps as he got his first taste of the FTR chassis he will ride this year.

In the 125cc class Championship favourite Nico Terol (Bancaja Aspar) led the way with a best effort of 1’49.168, with rookie Maverick Viñales (PEV-Blusens-SMX-Paris Hilton) 0.245s behind in second. Johann Zarco (Ajo Motorsport), Jonas Folger (Red Bull Ajo Motorsport) and Efrén Vázquez (Ajo Motorsport) were the top five, and the last riders within a second of Terol. Marcel Schrötter (Mahindra Racing) had the only fall of the morning session when he went down at slow speed at Turn 2, and the German avoided injury.

Moto2, 2011

Other updates you may be interested in ›