Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Terol the man to beat at Silverstone

Terol the man to beat at Silverstone

Nicolas Terol retains the leader in the Championship standings as the 125cc class heads to the AirAsia British Grand Prix, the sixth round of the 2011 season.

Nicolas Terol stretched his lead to a comfortable 48 points in the 125 Championship standings after an action packed fifth round at Montmeló, and the Bankia Aspar rider shows no signs of slowing as the 2011 season heads to the AirAsia British Grand Prix this weekend at Silverstone.

The Spaniard’s win in Catalunya was the fourteenth successive race at which he has stood on the podium. If he should land on the podium this weekend at Silverstone, he will set a new all-time record for successive podium finishes in the 125cc class. And a top three finish for the 22 year-old at Silverstone is likely, as Terol just missed out on a podium finish there last year, when he lost out to Bradley Smith on the last lap.

The closest challenger to Terol remains Sandro Cortese (Intact Racing Team Germany), though Cortese had his worse qualifying position of 2010 at Silverstone, when he started from 11th. Just four points behind him in the third place standings is Jonas Folger (Red Bull Ajo Motorsport), who has finished on the podium in two of the five rounds this season.

The Blusens by Paris Hilton Racing rider Maverick Viñales sits just three points behind Folger in fourth, whose second place finish at the Catalunya GP made him the third youngest rider at 16 years old to take back-to-back Grand Prix podium finishes. Johann Zarco (Avant-AirAsia-Ajo) is two points behind Viñales, and has shown himself a strong contender this year by already finishing twice on the podium, though he was denied his first win in the class when he was penalised 20 seconds for an illegal overtake on Terol on the last lap at the Catalunya GP.

Lone wildcard rider John McPhee of Racing Steps Foundation KRP enters the 125cc class this weekend on his Aprilia, having ridden at Catalunya as well, whilst Norwegian youngster Sturla Fagerhaug again replaces the injured Sarath Kumar on the WTR-Ten10 Racing Team.


Other updates you may be interested in ›