New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Márquez seizes sixth win in San Marino

Márquez seizes sixth win in San Marino

A four way battle for Moto2 victory at the Gran Premio Aperol di San Marino e della Riviera di Rimini in Misano saw Marc Márquez take the top spot ahead of Stefan Bradl and Andrea Iannone.

Pole starter Stefan Bradl (Viessmann Kiefer Racing) led off the start of the race, until the German rider had a moment and dropped to third, giving the lead over to Márquez (Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol), followed by Scott Redding.The British Marc VDS Racing rider then overtook the Spaniard at the front and began to pull a gap on the field.

A race long spar between Andrea Iannone (Speed Master), Márquez and Bradl ensued, with Alex de Angelis (JiR Moto2) joining the front group as Redding dropped off the front on lap 13. Close racing had the front runners changing positions nearly every lap, with Italian rider Iannone fighting hard for a win at his home track, Bradl fighting for another win to ensure his Championship, and Márquez determined to close the Championship gap to the German.

18 year old Márquez succeeded in taking the lead from Iannone on lap 22, holding it until the finish line to take his sixth win of the season. Championship leader Bradl overtook the Italian on the penultimate lap to cross the line second, while Iannone took third at his home circuit for his fourth podium of the season, setting a new fastest lap record on his eighth lap in the process.

De Angelis crossed the line fourth, a second and a half ahead of two British riders who started the race along side the San Marino local from the second row, Redding in fifth and Bradley Smith (Tech 3 Racing) in sixth.

Yuki Takahashi (Gresini Racing) crossed the line seventh after his front row start, followed by Swiss rider Thomas Lüthi (Interwetten Paddock Moto2) in eighth, Pol Espargaró (HP Tuenti Speed Up) in ninth and Simone Corsi (Ioda Racing Project) in tenth.


Other updates you may be interested in ›