New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Grand Prix racing numbers: Sepang

Grand Prix racing numbers: Sepang

Facts and figures ahead of the 2011 Shell Advance Malaysian Motorcycle Grand Prix.

995.5 – Following his sixth place finish at the Australian Grand Prix, Nico Terol’s career points’ total is 995.5. A top eleven finish at the Malaysian Grand Prix would make him only the sixth rider to reach the milestone of 1000 career points in the 125cc class. The other riders to have done this are: Noboru Ueda, Kazuto Sakata, Angel Nieto, Fausto Gresini and Jorge Martinez.

380 – Honda clinched the MotoGP constructors title at the Australian Grand Prix; their eighteenth in the premier-class. Honda already have 380 points in the constructors’ championship and with two races remaining it is likely that they will exceed the previous highest total for the MotoGP constructers’ champions¬hip which was set last year by Yamaha with 404 points.

58 – Casey Stoner’s victory in Australia was the 58th time he has stood on the podium in the MotoGP class, the same number of podium finishes as Randy Mamola achieved during his career. Only five riders have finished on the podium more times than Stoner in the premier-class; Valentino Rossi, Mick Doohan, Giacomo Agostini, Eddie Lawson and Wayne Rainey.

32 – The win for Casey Stoner in Australia was his 32nd victory in the MotoGP class. This is one more premier-class victory than Eddie Lawson achieved during his career and places Stoner in fifth position in the all-time winners list after; Valentino Rossi, Giacomo Agostini, Mick Doohan and Mike Hailwood.

25 – Following the Australian Grand Prix, Nico Terol has a 25 point lead over championship rival Johann Zarco and this gives Terol a great chance to clinch the title at Sepang. The only way that Zarco can stop Terol winning the title at the Malaysian GP is by finishing the race in front of him. If both riders fail to finish the race then Terol would be champion due to his greater number of wins this year.

20 – Malaysian 125cc rider, Zulfahmi Khairuddin will celebrate his 20th birthday on the day before practice starts for his home Grand Prix at Sepang.

14 – Sandro Cortese’s win in Australia was the fourteenth victory of the year for Aprilia in the 125cc class. This equals the current record for most wins in the 125cc class by one manufacturer in a single season; a record that was set by Aprilia themselves in 2007 and equalled again in 2009.

11 – At the Australian Grand Prix, Casey Stoner took his eleventh pole position of the year. Only once has a rider taken more than ten poles in the premier-class in a single season – Mick Doohan started from pole in the 500cc class on twelve occasions in 1997.

10 – On the first day of practice at Sepang it will be ten years ago to the day that Daijiro Kato won the 250cc race at Sepang to clinch the 250cc world title.

3 – Arriving in Malaysia, Stefan Bradl has a three-point lead in the Moto2 World Championship classification and could clinch the title in Sepang. In order to do so Bradl would need to win the race, with Marc Marquez scoring less than three points.

2 – Sepang is one of just two current circuits where Honda have not had a MotoGP win during the 800cc era; the other one is Assen. The last Honda MotoGP win at Sepang was with Valentino Rossi in 2003.

2 – Sepang is one of just two current circuits where Casey Stoner has not started from pole; the other one is Estoril.


Other updates you may be interested in ›