New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Moto2™ to resume battle in Spain

Moto2™ to resume battle in Spain

A thrillingly close first round in Qatar is followed by the first European event of the season, the Gran Premio bwin de España at Jerez.

With fans hopeful of as gripping and eventful a race as that witnessed in round one, the Moto2™ World Championship lands in Spain this weekend for the Gran Premio bwin de España at Jerez and there was plenty left to talk about in the wake of the season opener.

Victory for Marc Márquez (Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol) was the Spaniard's eighth in the Moto2 category, making him the rider with the most wins in the class, and to extend that statistic he will have to finish a race for the first time since 2009 at Jerez this weekend.

Andrea Iannone (Speed Master) was beaten to victory by just 0.016s in Qatar by Márquez, and the Italian won last year's Moto2 race at Jerez after starting from 11th on the grid. The two will go head-to-head once more at Jerez, where a highly-motivated Pol Espargaró (Pons 40 HP Tuenti) will aim to build on his third-placed finish from round one. The Spanish rider won the 2010 125cc race at Jerez, and will be more confident than ever of taking a first Moto2 victory this time around.

Espargaró's team-mate Esteve Rabat rode a solid race in Qatar and will be one of those expected to challenge at the front in Spain, and Thomas Lüthi's (Interwetten Paddock) response to his Qatar disappointment will be keenly observed. The Swiss rider finished fifth after starting from pole position and going head-to-head with Márquez on the final lap. He will line up for his 150th Grand Prix start on Sunday, and has a good record at Jerez where he has finished on the podium for the last two seasons.

Scott Redding (Marc VDS Racing Team) and Mike di Meglio (S/Master Speed Up) both made good starts to the season and will want to make further improvements, while Simone Corsi (Came IodaRacing Project) would be delighted with a repeat of his Jerez performance from last season when he stepped on the podium after qualifying down in 18th.

Bradley Smith (Tech 3 Racing) and Mika Kallio (Marc VDS Racing Team) also got off to promising starts in 2012, as did rookies Johann Zarco (JiR Moto2) and Takaaki Nakagami (Italtrans Racing Team), whilst 2010 World Champion Toni Elías (Mapfre Aspar Team) won the Jerez GP in his title year. Julián Simón (Blusens Avintia) will also be eager to improve as he continues to adapt to the FTR.

Moto2, 2012

Other updates you may be interested in ›