New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Sachsenring – Racing Numbers

Sachsenring – Racing Numbers

Brush up on your MotoGP™ knowledge before this weekend’s eni Motorrad Grand Prix Deutschland with some interesting facts and figures from

140 – With his victory at the Dutch TT, Casey Stoner goes equal with Jorge Lorenzo at the top of the championship classification with 140 points – this is four more points than Stoner had accumulated at the same stage last season on his way to winning the world title.

49 years – On the day of qualifying at the German GP it will be 49 years ago to the day that Fumio Ito gave Yamaha their first ever Grand Prix victory, in the 250cc class at the Belgium Grand Prix in 1963 at Spa-Francorchamps.

43 – Casey Stoner’s victory at the Dutch TT was the 43rd win of his Grand Prix career. This puts him in eighth place in the all-time GP winners list with one more victory than Jorge Lorenzo, Max Biaggi and Toni Mang.

34 years – Prior to the Dutch TT, it was 34 years since Britain had podium finishers in both the lightweight and intermediate classes at a single GP event, at the British GP at Silverstone in 1978 when Clive Horton finished second in the 125cc race and Tom Herron second in the 250cc race.

26 – Michele Pirro will celebrate his 26th birthday on the day before practice begins at the German Grand Prix.

22 – Casey Stoner’s win at Assen was the 22nd successive race that he has finished in the top four. This equals the longest sequence of top four finishes in the 500cc class achieved by Giacomo Agostini during his GP career. Since the world championship series started in 1949 only two riders have had a longer sequence of successive top four finishes in the premier-class; Valentino Rossi with 28 successive top four finishes and Jorge Lorenzo with 25.

6 – Since the introduction of the four-stroke MotoGP class in 2002, Honda have been the most successful manufacturer at the Sachsenring circuit with six wins, followed by Yamaha with three and Ducati with a single victory in 2008.

5 – Valentino Rossi and Dani Pedrosa are the two riders with most victories at the new Sachsenring circuit, each having won 5 times; Rossi - 1x 250cc & 4 x MotoGP, Dani Pedrosa - 2 x 250cc & 3 x MotoGP.

4 – Four riders in the Moto2 class have scored points at each of the seven races so far in 2012 – Andrea Iannone, Scott Redding, Mika Kallio and Bradley Smith.

2 – Two German riders won at the old Sachsenring circuit: Ernst Degner (MZ) won the 125cc race in 1961 and Dieter Braun won the 250cc race in 1971 riding a Yamaha.


Other updates you may be interested in ›