New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Racing Numbers – Phillip Island

Racing Numbers – Phillip Island

As the MotoGP field heads to Phillip Island for the penultimate round of the championship at the AirAsia Australian Grand Prix, bring you all the vital statistics.

148 - Scott Redding has already scored 148 points this year, which is the highest ever score by a British rider in a single season in the intermediate-class of Grand Prix racing.

27 – Cal Crutchlow has his 27th birthday on the day after the Australian Grand Prix

24 - This will be the 24th Australian Grand Prix, which has been held every year since the first visit in 1989. The first two Australian Grand Prix were held at Phillip Island, before visiting the Eastern Creek circuit for six successive years and then returning to Phillip Island in 1997 where it has since remained. 

22 – Danilo Petrucci celebrated his 22nd birthday on the Wednesday before the Australian Grand Prix.

22 – Jorge Lorenzo and Dani Pedrosa have finished first and second in the MotoGP class on twenty two occasions. On twelve of these occasions Dani Pedrosa has won the race; Jorge Lorenzo has come out on top ten times.

21 – Dani Pedrosa’s victory at the Malaysian GP was the 21st  time he has stood on the top step of the podium in the MotoGP class. This moves him above Freddie Spencer into thirteenth place in the premier-class Grand Prix all-time winners list.   One more MotoGP win and he will move equal with Geoff Duke, Kenny Roberts and John Surtees in terms of premier-class GP victories.

16 – Honda leads the Constructors’ championship by 16 points and would take the title in Australia if they increase that to a 25 points advantage. The most likely scenario to achieve this is if a Honda rider wins the race and no Yamaha rider finishes in second place. This would be the 19th Constructors title in the premier-class for Honda.

15 – Jorge Lorenzo’s second place finish at the Malaysian Grand Prix was the 15th time this year that he has finished either first or second in the MotoGP class. This already equals the record for most top-two Grand Prix finishes in a single season in the premier-class, which was achieved by Valentino Rossi in 2002.

13 – Sandro Cortese’s victory at the Malaysian Grand Prix was his 13th podium finish in 2012.  If he finishes in the top three at the Australian Grand Prix he will equal the current record for most podiums in a single season in the lightweight class of Grand Prix racing set by Álvaro Bautista in 2006 and equalled by Nico Terol in 2010 when he finished second in the world championship.

4 – Both Ducati and Honda have had four MotoGP victories at the Phillip Island circuit; Yamaha have had two wins at the circuit, the last of which was in 2005.

4 years – The podium in the Moto3 race in Malaysia was the first podium in the lightweight class of Grand Prix racing that did not include a Spanish rider since the Malaysian GP in 2008 when Gabor Talmacsi won from Bradley Smith and Simone Corsi.

1 – Dani Pedrosa’s victory at the Malaysian Grand Prix was the first time he has won a Grand Prix race in wet weather conditions and also the first Spanish win in the premier-class at the Malaysian Grand Prix.


Other updates you may be interested in ›