New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Espargaró and Rins to be awarded Michael Metraux Trophy

Espargaró and Rins to be awarded Michael Metraux Trophy

At this evening’s FIM MotoGP Awards Ceremony in Valencia following the final round of the MotoGP™ World Championship, the 2012 Michael Metraux Trophy will be presented to Pol Espargaró and Alex Rins.

Riders in both the Moto2™ and Moto3™ categories were asked by IRTA to vote for the rider in their respective class who they believe has achieved the best performance throughout the season, taking into consideration factors including age, previous results, machinery and team.

In Moto2™ it was Tuenti Movil HP 40’s Pol Espargaró who came out on top, with the Spaniard putting in a tremendous season that pushed ultimate winner Marc Márquez until the penultimate round. He recorded 8 pole-positions, 4 wins and 11 podiums this season, and ended the year as Moto2™ runner-up.

In Moto3™, Estrella Galicia 0,0’s Alex Rins has had a terrific Rookie season, having taken 1 podium, 1 pole-position, and two front row starts. He and Romano Fenati were fighting for Rookie of the Year honours right until the very end, with Rins beating the Italian in the last race to take those honours.

The trophy was created in memory of Michel Metraux who was the founder and first President of IRTA when it was formed in 1986.

Moto2, 2012, GRAN PREMIO GENERALI DE LA COMUNITAT VALENCIANA, Alex Rins, Pol Espargaro, Tuenti Movil HP 40, Estrella Galicia 0,0

Other updates you may be interested in ›