Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Racing numbers: Commercial Bank Grand Prix of Qatar

Racing numbers: Commercial Bank Grand Prix of Qatar

Ahead of the opening race of 2013, it’s time to delve into the numbers that matter in relation to Qatar and the Losail International Circuit…

112 – Dani Pedrosa has finished on the podium 112 times across all Grand Prix classes.  This is the same number of podium finishes Mike Hailwood achieved during his Grand Prix career.  Only four riders have finished on the podium more often in Grand Prix racing: Valentino Rossi (177 podium finishes), Giacomo Agostini (159), Angel Nieto (139) and Phil Read (121).

98 – Jorge Lorenzo has stood on the podium 98 times in Grand Prix racing, the same number of podium finishes six-times world champion Jim Redman had during his GP career.  One more podium finish for Lorenzo will put him equal with Loris Capirossi in the all-time list of GP podium finishers.

45 – Dani Pedrosa’s victory in the final race of last year was his 45th GP win across all classes, all of which have been on Honda machinery. This is the same number of GP wins riding for Honda as Jim Redman. Only Mick Doohan, with 54 wins, has celebrated more GP victories on Honda-manufactured motorcycles.

28 – The last 28 MotoGP victories have been shared between three riders: Casey Stoner, Jorge Lorenzo and Dani Pedrosa.  The last MotoGP win by a rider other than these three was at the Dutch TT in 2011, when Ben Spies took his only GP victory so far.

11 – On race day in Qatar it will be exactly eleven years since the first ever MotoGP race took place under new rules, when 990cc 4-stroke bikes competed against 500cc 2-stroke machines in the 2002 Japanese GP at Suzuka.  The race was won by Valentino Rossi on a Honda, from Akira Ryo on a Suzuki and Carlos Checa on a Yamaha.

10 – This will be the tenth occasion that a Grand Prix event has been held at the Losail circuit and the sixth under floodlights. Yamaha have been the most successful manufacturer in MotoGP at this circuit with four wins, Ducati have had three victories and Honda two.

5 – Only five different riders have finished on the podium in Qatar in the MotoGP class over the last six years; Casey Stoner and Jorge Lorenzo five times each; four times for Dani Pedrosa, three for Valentino Rossi and a single podium for Andrea Dovizioso.

5 – The last five MotoGP races of 2012 were won by Honda riders. This is the longest sequence of successive MotoGP victories by Honda since 2003, when Honda riders took ten successive MotoGP wins.

2 – Lukáš Pešek joins Karel Abraham in the MotoGP class for 2013, making it two Czech riders lining up together in the premier class for the first time since the German Grand Prix of 1986 at the Nürburgring, when Paval Dekanek and Bohumil Stasa both started the 500 race.


Other updates you may be interested in ›