Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Facts and Figures: Le Mans

Facts and Figures: Le Mans

The Le Mans circuit holds one of the longest traditions of Grand Prix racing on the current MotoGP™ schedule. Read on to hopefully learn something new…

- Le Mans has hosted a Grand Prix event on 25 previous occasions, including the Grand Prix ‘Vitesse du Mans’ in 1991, which was the only year in which two Grand Prix events have been held in France during a single season.

- Le Mans was first used for a Grand Prix event in 1969, when the 500 race was won by Giacomo Agostini who lapped all other riders in the race on his MV Agusta. 

- The Le Mans circuit has been used for the MotoGP event for the last 13 years in succession, starting in 2000.

- Since the introduction of the four-stroke MotoGP formula in 2002, both Honda and Yamaha have had five victories at Le Mans. The other win went to Suzuki in 2007 with Chris Vermeulen – Suzuki’s only GP victory in the four-stroke MotoGP era.

- Jorge Lorenzo, with three wins in the MotoGP class and a single win in the 250 class, is the rider who has had most Grand prix victories at the Le Mans circuit.

- There have been five GP wins at Le Mans for French riders: Jean Aureal won the 125 race in 1969, Guy Bertin the 125 race in 1979, Patrick Fernandez the 350 race in 1979, Mike di Meglio the 125 race in 2008 and Louis Rossi the Moto3™ race last year.

- In addition to Le Mans, seven other circuits have hosted the French Grand Prix: Paul Ricard (13 times), Clermont-Ferrand (10), Nogaro (2), Reims (2), Rouen (2), Albi (1) and Magny-Cours (1).


Other updates you may be interested in ›