Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Racing Numbers: Iveco TT Assen

Racing Numbers: Iveco TT Assen

This weekend sees Assen celebrate its 65th hosting of the Dutch TT as a World Championship event. That’s not the only number to bear in mind, though…

100 – At the Dutch TT, British Moto3™ rider Danny Webb will be making his 100th Grand Prix start. Webb has competed full-time in the smallest class of GP racing since 2007 and is the second youngest rider to reach the milestone of 100 Grand Prix starts in the Moto3/125 class; the only rider who has achieved this at a younger age is Sandro Cortese.

65 – Jorge Lorenzo’s win at Catalunya was the 65th time he has stood on the podium in the MotoGP class; this is one more premier class podium than Wayne Rainey achieved during his Grand Prix career. Only six riders have had more podium finishes in the premier class: Valentino Rossi (142 podiums), Mick Doohan (95), Giacomo Agostini (88), Eddie Lawson (78), Dani Pedrosa (76) and Casey Stoner (69).

39 years - On race day at the Dutch TT it will be 39 years ago to the day that Kenny Roberts made his Grand prix debut in the 250 class at the 1974 Dutch TT riding a Yamaha; he qualified on pole and finished the race in third place.

38 years – On the day of qualifying at the Dutch TT it will be 38 years ago to the day that Barry Sheene won a Grand Prix for the first time in the 500cc class, at the 1975 Dutch TT; this was also the first win for the square-four RG500 Suzuki. Sheene passed Giacomo Agostini exiting the final corner and the two riders were so close at the finish line they could not be separated with the hand timing of the day and were given the same overall race time.

33 years – On the day of qualifying at the Dutch TT it will be exactly 33 years since Jack Middelburg took the first of his two GP wins, at the 1980 Dutch TT. This was the last time that a Dutch rider has won in the premier class race at Assen.

26 – All of Jorge Lorenzo’s wins in the MotoGP class have been when riding for Yamaha. This is the same number of premier class GP wins on a Yamaha as Eddie Lawson. The only rider with more wins in the premier class while riding for Yamaha is Valentino Rossi with 46.

26 – Claudio Corti celebrates his 26th birthday on the Tuesday before the Dutch TT.

24 – Jorge Lorenzo and Dani Pedrosa have finished first and second together in the MotoGP class on 24 occasions, with each rider coming out on top 12 times.

21 years – On the first day of practice at the Dutch TT it will be exactly 21 years to the day that Alex Criville became the first Spanish rider to take a 500 GP win, at the 1992 Dutch TT. In total, Spanish riders have now taken 79 wins in the premier class of Grand Prix racing.

6th – At the Grand Prix of Catalunya, Bradley Smith had his best result of his rookie season in MotoGP, finishing in sixth place.  He is the youngest British rider to finish in the top six in a premier class Grand Prix since Gary Lingham was third in the 1979 Belgium Grand Prix, a race that was boycotted by the top riders due to concerns about safety.

6 – Both Luis Salom and Maverick Viñales have finished on the podium at the first six Moto3 races of the year. This is the first time since Kazuto Sakata in 1993 that a rider has opened the season with six successive podium finishes in the lightweight class of GP racing. In 1993 Sakata also finished on the podium at the seventh race of the year, but failed to take the title which went to Dirk Raudies.

4 – Only four riders in the MotoGP class have scored points at all six races to have taken place so far in 2013: Dani Pedrosa, Jorge Lorenzo, Andrea Dovizioso and Aleix Espargaro.


Other updates you may be interested in ›