Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Racing Numbers: bwin Grand Prix České republiky

Racing Numbers: bwin Grand Prix České republiky

This weekend, the Czech Republic’s Brno becomes the eleventh circuit to host a MotoGP™ event in 2013. Did you know that Marc Marquez has now won no less than 30 Grands Prix in his short World Championship career? There’s plenty more numbers to be considered, as well…

77 – Dani Pedrosa’s second place finish at Indianapolis was the 77th time he has stood on the podium in the premier class of Grand Prix racing, just one less than four-time 500 World Champion Eddie Lawson. Only three riders have more podium finishes in the premier class than Lawson and Pedrosa: Valentino Rossi (145 premier class podium finishes), Mick Doohan (95) and Giacomo Agostini (88).

39 years – On race day at Brno it will be exactly 39 years since Phil Read won the 500 race at the 1974 Czechoslovakian GP, from his team-mate Gianfranco Bonera.  This was the last occasion on which MV Agusta scored a one-two finish in GP racing.

33 years – On the day of qualifying at Brno it will be 33 years to the day that Jon Ekerold came out on top of a winner-takes-all showdown with Toni Mang at the final 350 race of the 1980 season at the Nurburgring. The two riders were equal on points arriving in Germany and set such a pace fighting for the win that they finished more than 30 seconds in front of former champion Johnny Cecotto in third place.

30 – The victory by Marc Marquez at Indianapolis was the 30th time that he has stood on the top step of the podium in Grand Prix racing – the same number of GP victories as Luigi Taveri achieved throughout his career. Another victory for Marquez will put him level in terms of GP wins with Kork Ballington and Eddie Lawson.

26 years – On the first day of practice at the Czech GP it will be exactly 26 years to the day that Wayne Gardner won the first 500 GP race held at the current purpose-built Brno circuit in 1987.

25 - Dominique Aegerter’s fifth place finish at the Indianapolis Grand Prix was the 25th consecutive race at which he has finished in a points-scoring position. The last race at which he failed to score points was when he finished 18th at the opening round of last year in Qatar. Additionally, that was the only time in the last 36 Moto2™ races that Aegerter has failed to score points.

19 – On the day of qualifying at Brno, the youngest rider in the Moto2™ class – Indonesia’s Rafid Topan Sucipto - will celebrate his 19th birthday. One day earlier, Japanese Moto3™ rider Hyuga Watanabe has his 19th birthday.

18 – This will be Valentino Rossi’s 18th appearance at Brno which is one of just two circuits, along with Jerez, on which he has raced during every season that he has competed in GP racing.

9 –Maverick Viñales has been on the podium at the opening nine races of the year.  Only one rider in the 65-year history of Grand Prix racing has had a longer sequence of podium finishes from the start of the season in the Moto3/125 class: Fausto Gresini, who won the opening ten events of the 11-race 1987 season in 125s.

6 – Valentino Rossi has won at Brno on six different motorcycles: 125cc Aprilia, 250cc Aprilia, 500cc Honda, 990cc Honda, 990cc Yamaha and 800cc Yamaha.


Other updates you may be interested in ›