Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Racing Numbers: GP Aperol di San Marino e della Riviera di Rimini

Racing Numbers: GP Aperol di San Marino e della Riviera di Rimini

It’s Round 13 of 2013 and the calendar’s next venue is Misano, just ten kilometres from the home town of Valentino Rossi. If you thought those were the only numbers on offer, though, you would be mistaken…

120 – Dani Pedrosa’s third place finish at Silverstone was the 120th time that he has stood on the podium in Grand Prix racing. This just one less podium than Phil Read achieved during his long career, during which he won seven world titles (two in the 500 class, four in 250s and one in 125s).

50 – The second place finish for Marc Marquez at Silverstone was the 50th occasion on which he had stood on the podium in Grand Prix racing. This makes him the youngest rider of all time to reach the milestone of half a century of podium finishes, at the age of 20 years and 196 days. He takes that record from teammate Dani Pedrosa, who was aged 21 years and 162 days when he stood on a Grand Prix podium for the 50th time at the opening race of 2007 in Qatar.

50 years – On race day at Misano it will be exactly 50 years to the day that Giacomo Agostini made his Grand Prix debut in the 250 class at the 1963 Nations Grand Prix at Monza, riding a Morini. He led the race in the early stages before being forced out with a mechanical failure.

45 years – On race day at Misano it will be exactly 45 years since Giacomo Agostini won the 500 race at the 1968 Nations Grand Prix at Monza. He was followed across the line by Renzo Pasolini, Angelo Bergamonti, Alberto Pagani and Silvano Bertarelli – the only occasion that Italian riders have taken the top five places in a premier class Grand Prix.

15 – There have been 15 previous San Marino Grand Prix events, with the first having been held at Imola in 1981. Three different circuits have hosted the San Marino Grand Prix: Imola twice (1981 and 1983), Mugello four times (1982, ‘84, ‘91 and ‘93) and Misano on nine occasions (1985, ‘86, ‘87, 2007, ‘08, ‘09, ‘10, ‘11 and ‘12).

15 - KTM riders have won the last 15 successive Moto3™ races.  This is the third-longest sequence of successive GP wins in the lightweight class by one manufacturer; only Honda have had a longer sequence of successive wins, with 19 across the 1990/91 seasons and 17 between 1992 and 1993.

3 – The same three riders (Jorge Lorenzo, Dani Pedrosa and Marc Marquez) have been on the podium at the last three MotoGP races. This is the first time that Spanish riders have filled all the podium places in the MotoGP class at three successive races.

0 – Following the British Grand Prix, there are no longer any riders in the MotoGP class who have scored points at every race this year. Andrea Dovizioso was the only rider that had finished in the points at the first 11 races, but he crashed out at Silverstone on the penultimate lap. Incidentally, this was the first time that Dovizioso had failed to score points since the British Grand Prix of last year.

0 – None of the riders starting the Moto3™ race at the San Marino Grand Prix have previously won a World Championship race at the Misano circuit.


Other updates you may be interested in ›