Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Racing Numbers: Gran Premio Iveco de Aragón

Racing Numbers: Gran Premio Iveco de Aragón

Aragon will be the scene of Round 14 of 18 in the 2013 MotoGP™ World Championship. Arguably the most important number is 25 in terms of points for a Grand Prix victory, but as always there are plenty of facts and figures in the air…

71 – Bradley Smith has 71 points from his first 13 races in the MotoGP™ class, which is already the highest score by a British rider in their rookie MotoGP™ season since James Toseland scored 105 points in 2008.

43 years – On the first day of practice at the Aragon Grand Prix, it will be 43 years to the day since Barry Sheene made his Grand Prix debut at the Montjuic street circuit in Barcelona, riding an ex-Stuart Graham factory Suzuki. Sheene led the race in the early stages before eventually finishing second to Angel Nieto.

28 - Dominique Aegerter’s fifth place finish at the San Marino Grand Prix was the 28th successive race at which he has finished in a point-scoring position. The last race at which he failed to score points was when he finished 18th at the opening race of last year in Qatar. This 18th place finish in Qatar is the only time in the last 39 Moto2™ races that Aegerter has failed to score points. Incidentally, the Swiss rider will celebrate his 23rd birthday on the Monday following the Aragon Grand Prix.

28 – On race day at the Aragon Grand Prix, Dani Pedrosa celebrates his 28th birthday.

25 – Nico Terol celebrates his 25th birthday on the first day of practice.

16 - KTM riders have won the last 16 successive Moto3™ races. This is the third longest sequence of successive GP wins in the lightweight class by one manufacturer. Only Honda have had longer sequence of successive wins, with 19 across the 1990/91 seasons and 17 in 1992/93.

4 - The same three riders (Jorge Lorenzo, Dani Pedrosa and Marc Marquez) have been on the podium at the last four MotoGP™ races. This is the first time ever that the three same riders have been on the podium at four successive premier class Grand Prix races.

4 – Valentino Rossi has finished fourth at the last four races. This is only the second time ever that the same rider has finished in fourth place at as many successive premier class Grands Prix. The only other rider to have done this is Ron Haslam, who in 1984 finished fourth in four successive 500 GP races.

3 – With Yuki Takahashi failing to start the race at Misano, there are now just three riders with a 100% starting record in the Moto2™ class since it was introduced in 2010: Scott Redding, Dominique Aegerter and Simone Corsi.

3 – Aragon is one of just three current circuits on which Jorge Lorenzo has not had a Grand Prix victory in any of the three classes; the other two are Germany’s Sachsenring and Circuit of the Americas in Austin, Texas which was a new addition this year.

2 – At the Aragon Grand Prix, Maria Herrera Muñoz will be appearing as a wildcard in the Moto3™ race. This means that, for the first time since the Spanish GP in 1994, there will be two female riders starting a Grand Prix. At that particular Spanish GP, both Daniela Tognoli and Tomoko Igata started the 125 race.

2 – Aragon is one of just two current circuits, along with Austin, on which Yamaha have not had a win in the MotoGP™ class.

2 – Two Ducati riders finished on the podium at the inaugural Aragon Grand Prix in 2010, with Casey Stoner winning the race and Nicky Hayden finishing third. This is the last occasion to date on which Ducati have had two riders on a MotoGP rostrum.


Other updates you may be interested in ›