Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Racing Numbers: Tissot Australian Grand Prix

Undoubtedly, the big news heading to Phillip Island is the possibility of Marc Marquez becoming the youngest ever MotoGP™ World Champion. There are plenty of other facts and figures on offer, though…

300 – The second place finish by Marc Marquez at the Malaysian Grand Prix was the 300th podium for Honda in the MotoGP™ class.

33 – Marc Marquez needs to score just 33 points over the final three races of the year to guarantee that he wins the MotoGP™ world title, even if his closest rival Jorge Lorenzo wins the three remaining races.

31 – Damian Cudlin will celebrate his 31st birthday on the day of qualifying at his home Grand Prix.

30 - Dominique Aegerter’s fifth place finish at the Malaysian Grand Prix was the 30th successive race at which he has finished in a point-scoring position. The last race at which he failed to score points was when he finished 18th at the opening race of last year in Qatar. Only two riders in the 65-year history of Grand Prix racing have had a longer sequence of successive point-scoring finishes in the intermediate class: Luca Cadalora with 34 and Andrea Dovizioso with 31.

25 – Dani Pedrosa’s win at Sepang was his 25th MotoGP™ victory. This is the same number of premier class Grand Prix wins that Kevin Schwantz, the 500 World Champion of 1993, achieved during his career.

22 - Zulfahmi Khairuddin will celebrate his 22nd birthday on race day at the Australian Grand Prix.

18 - KTM riders have won the last 18 successive Moto3™ races and the Austrian marque could now equal a record, as only Honda have had a longer sequence of successive wins in the 125/Moto3™ class: 19 across the 1990/91 seasons.

17 years – On the day of the Australian Grand Prix it will be exactly 17 years since Loris Capirossi won for the first time in the 500 class, at the 1996 Australian GP at Eastern Creek. Mick Doohan and Alex Criville had been battling for the win but the two teammates infamous collided on the final lap.

11 years – On race day in Australia it will be 11 years to the day since Jeremy McWilliams, riding a Team KR Proton, qualified on pole for the 2002 MotoGP™ race at Phillip Island. This was the last ever pole in the premier class by a two-stroke machine and the first pole in the premier class for Bridgestone.

8 - At the Malaysian GP, Marc Marquez started from pole for the eighth time in 2013.  Only two riders in the MotoGP™ era have had eight or more poles in a single season: Valentino Rossi (nine in 2003) and Casey Stoner (nine in 2008 and 12 in 2011).

5 – Phillip Island is one of just five current circuits on which Jorge Lorenzo has not had a MotoGP™ win, along with the Sachsenring, MotorLand Aragón, Sepang and Circuit of the Americas.

5 – Phillip Island is also one of just five current circuits on which Dani Pedrosa has not had a MotoGP™ win, along with Losail, Circuit of the Americas, Assen and Silverstone.

MotoGP, 2013

Other updates you may be interested in ›