Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Racing Numbers: AirAsia Grand Prix of Japan

Racing Numbers: AirAsia Grand Prix of Japan

Dani Pedrosa has now scored precisely 2,000 MotoGP™ points whereas Bradley Smith could become the highest-scoring Briton in his debut premier class season. It’s figures all the way ahead of the AirAsia Grand Prix of Japan…

3,192 - The total number of points scored by Dani Pedrosa during his Grand Prix career. Only two riders have accumulated more Grand Prix points than Pedrosa: Valentino Rossi (4,775 points) and Loris Capirossi (3,215). A victory for Pedrosa in Japan will make him the second-highest points scorer of all-time in Grand Prix racing.

2,000 - With his second place finish in the Australian Grand Prix, Dani Pedrosa has now scored exactly 2,000 points during his eight years in the MotoGP™ class. Only three riders have accumulated more points in premier class of Grand Prix racing: Valentino Rossi (3,833), Mick Doohan (2,298) and Alex Barros (2,079).

110 - Jorge Lorenzo’s victory in Australia was the 110th time he has stood on the podium in Grand Prix racing. This is just one less podium than Max Biaggi achieved during his Grand Prix career. Only six riders have finished on the podium on more occasions than Biaggi and Lorenzo: Valentino Rossi (183 podium finishes), Giacomo Agostini (159), Angel Nieto (139), Dani Pedrosa (123), Phil Read (121) and Mike Hailwood (112).

99 - Bradley Smith has a total of 99 points with two races remaining in the 2013 season.  He needs to score another seven points to become the highest-scoring British rider in their rookie season of MotoGP™; a record currently held by James Toseland, who scored 105 points in the 2008 season.

33 - Marc Marquez needs to score 33 points over the final two races of the year to guarantee the MotoGP™ world title, even if closest rival Jorge Lorenzo wins in both Japan and Valencia.

32 - Hiroshi Aoyama will have his 32nd birthday on the first day of practice at for his home Grand Prix at Motegi.

31 - Dominique Aegerter’s sixth place finish at the Australian Grand Prix was the 31st successive race in which he has finished in a point-scoring position. The last race at which he failed to score points was when he finished 18th at the opening race of last year in Qatar. The only rider in the 65-year history of Grand Prix racing who has had a longer sequence of successive point-scoring finishes in the intermediate class is Luca Cadalora, with 34 successive point-scoring finishes in the 250 class over the 1990-92 seasons.

25 - Jorge Lorenzo and Dani Pedrosa have finished first and second together in the MotoGP™ class on 25 occasions. On 12 of those occasions Pedrosa has won the race, while Lorenzo has come out on top 13 times.

23 - Danilo Petrucci celebrates his 23rd birthday on the day before practice starts at the Japanese Grand Prix.

19 - KTM riders have won the last 19 successive Moto3™ races. This equals the longest sequence of successive wins in the 125/Moto3™ class by one manufacturer, which was first achieved by Honda across the 1990/91 seasons.

14 - Spanish riders have won the last 14 races across all classes. This is just one less win than the current record for longest sequence of successive GP wins by one nation, set by Spanish riders in 2010. The last non-Spanish GP winner was Scott Redding, in the Moto2™ class at Silverstone.


Other updates you may be interested in ›