New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Marquez nominated for prestigious Laureus award

Marquez nominated for prestigious Laureus award

A glittering collection of the world’s greatest sports stars have been nominated for the 2014 Laureus World Sports Awards, including history making MotoGP™ World Champion Marc Marquez.

The young Spanish rider is nominated in the shortlist for the Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year award, following his astonishing rookie MotoGP™ title win.

Among the giants of sport who have been nominated in other award categories are three-time Laureus winners Usain Bolt and Serena Williams, Formula One World Champion Sebastian Vettel, short-listed for the fifth time, and Tiger Woods, who won the main prize in 2000, the inaugural year of Laureus.

Laureus World Sports Academy Chairman Edwin Moses said: "I have never seen such a potentially close contest in so many categories before. This is going to be a classic year. There is a wonderful balance between some of the great names who have dominated sport over many years and some exciting newcomers like Missy Franklin and Marc Marquez."

MotoGP’s Valentino Rossi is a previous Laureus award winner. His incredible recovery from injury in 2010 was recognised by the Laureus Academy, as the Italian rider was honoured with the Laureus World Sports Award ‘Comeback of the Year’ prize.

Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year nominees:

- Afghanistan Cricket Team – learned cricket in refugee camps, in 2013 reached first World Cup finals

- Marc Marquez (Spain) Motor Cycling – youngest ever MotoGP world champion, at 20 years 266 days

- Raphael Holzdeppe (Germany) Athletics – won Germany’s first World Championship pole vault gold

- Nairo Quintana (Colombia) Cycling – first Tour de France rookie to finish on the podium since 1996

- Justin Rose (UK) Golf – won his first Major Championship at US Open, at the age of 32

- Adam Scott (Australia) Golf – first Australian winner in the 77-year history of US Masters

The 2014 Laureus World Sports Award winners will be revealed in Kuala Lumpur on 26th March.

MotoGP, 2014, Marc Marquez, Repsol Honda Team

Other updates you may be interested in ›