Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Racing numbers for the season opener in Qatar

Racing numbers for the season opener in Qatar

A selection of key numbers relating to the 2014 Commercial Bank Grand Prix of Qatar, the opening round of this year’s MotoGP™ World Championship.

249 – Honda need just one more MotoGP™ victory to become the first manufacturer to reach the milestone of 250 wins in the premier class of Grand Prix racing

112 – Jorge Lorenzo’s victory at the final race of 2013 marked his 112th podium appearance across all Grand Prix classes. This is the same number of podium finishes that Mike Hailwood achieved during his Grand Prix career. Only five riders have finished on the podium more often in Grand Prix racing: Valentino Rossi (183 podium finishes), Giacomo Agostini (159), Angel Nieto (139), Dani Pedrosa (125) and Phil Read (121)

52 – Jorge Lorenzo’s victory at Valencia was the 52nd time he had stood on the top step of the podium in Grand Prix racing: the same number of wins that Phil Read achieved during his 15-year Grand Prix career. Only five riders have stood on the top step of a GP podium more often than Lorenzo: Giacomo Agostini (122 GP wins), Valentino Rossi (106), Angel Nieto (90), Mike Hailwood (76) and Mick Doohan (54)

35 – At the age of 35 years and 35 days on race day in Qatar, Valentino Rossi will become the oldest former premier class World Champion to take part in a premier class race since Giacomo Agostini in 1977

33 - Dominique Aegerter’s tenth place finish at the final Moto2 race of 2013 signalled the 33rd successive race at which he has finished in a point-scoring position. The last race at which he failed to score points was when he finished 18th at the opening race of 2012 in Qatar. Should he achieve a top 15 finish in Qatar this year, Aegerter will equal the longest sequence of successive point-scoring finishes in the intermediate class of Grand Prix racing; this was first achieved by Luca Cadalora, with 34 successive point-scoring finishes in the 250 class in a period across the 1990-92 seasons

28 - Andrea Dovizioso celebrates his 28th birthday on race day in Qatar

20 – Spanish riders have won the last 20 races across all three classes; a record for the longest sequence of successive GP wins by one nation. The last non-Spanish GP winner was Scott Redding, in the Moto2 class at Silverstone last year

11 – This will be the 11th occasion that a Grand Prix event has been held at the Losail International Circuit and the seventh under floodlights. Yamaha has been the most successful manufacturer in MotoGP at this circuit (five wins); Ducati has had three victories and Honda two

8 – This will be the eighth successive year that the Losail International Circuit has hosted the opening Grand Prix event of the year; it first did so in 2007

5 – The two riders with most GP victories at Losail, with five wins apiece, are Casey Stoner (4 x MotoGP, 1 x 250) and Jorge Lorenzo (2 x MotoGP, 2 x 250 and 1 x 125)

3 – Jorge Lorenzo won the last three MotoGP races of 2013 and a win for him in Qatar would mark the first time in his GP career that he has achieved four successive victories.

2 – After four seasons of the Moto2 class, there are now just two riders who have competed in all 68 races that have taken place: Dominique Aegerter and Simone Corsi.



Other updates you may be interested in ›