Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Barcelona-Catalunya racing: facts and figures

Barcelona-Catalunya racing: facts and figures

This is the 23rd successive year that the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya has been used since it was first included in the motorcycle Grand Prix series in 1992.

Below are some significant facts and figures from the previous 22 events held at the circuit:

- Only three current GP venues have a longer ongoing sequence of hosting Grand Prix events: Jerez, Mugello and Assen

- The last time that Spain did not have at least one GP winner across the three classes at the Catalunya Grand Prix was 2002

- During the four-stroke MotoGP™ era, Yamaha have taken seven victories, Honda have had three wins and Ducati two

- Valentino Rossi is the most successful rider across all Grand Prix classes at the Catalunya circuit with nine victories (1 x 125cc, 2 x 250cc, 1 x 500cc, 5 x MotoGP).

- The next most successful, with four wins each in Catalunya, are Jorge Lorenzo (1 x 250cc, 3 x MotoGP) and Max Biaggi (4 x 250cc)

- There have been seven premier class victories by Spanish riders at the Catalunya circuit: Alex Criville in 1995 & 1999, Carlos Checa in 1996, Dani Pedrosa in 2008 and Jorge Lorenzo in 2010, 2012 & 2013

- There has been at least one Spanish rider on the podium in the MotoGP race at the Catalunya GP for the last seven years

- Only two riders have won the MotoGP race at Catalunya from pole position: Valentino Rossi in 2006 and Jorge Lorenzo in 2010

- Six riders currently racing in the MotoGP class have finished on the podium in the premier class at the Catalunya circuit: Valentino Rossi (10 times), Jorge Lorenzo (5 times), Dani Pedrosa (5 times), Andrea Dovizioso (once), Nicky Hayden (once) and Marc Marquez (once)



Other updates you may be interested in ›