Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Racing numbers for round seven

Racing numbers for round seven

A selection of key racing numbers ahead of the Gran Premi Monster Energy de Catalunya.

65 years - The first day of practice in Catalunya will mark the 65th anniversary of the very first race that counted towards the World Championship – the 350cc race at the Isle of Man TT in 1949. This race was won by British rider Freddie Frith, riding a Velocette. Frith went on to win all five GP races in the 350cc class in 1949 to take the world title, before retiring from racing

61 - The victory by Marc Marquez at Mugello marked the 61st time that he had stood on the podium in Grand Prix racing: the same number of podium finishes that Jorge ‘Aspar’ Martinez and Pierpaolo Bianchi achieved during their Grand Prix careers. Another top three finish for Marquez would equal the number of Grand Prix podiums achieved by Marco Melandri

50% - The win by Marc Marquez at Mugello was the 12th win in the MotoGP™ class from just 24 race starts, giving him a win ratio of 50%

23 - Pol Espargaro celebrated his 23rd birthday on the Tuesday prior to the Catalan Grand Prix

16 years - On the day of qualifying in Catalunya, it will be 16 years to the day since Carlos Checa took his second GP win in the 500 class at the 1998 Madrid GP at Jarama, with fellow Spanish rider Sete Gibernau taking his first GP podium in third on a Honda V-twin

11 years - On race day at the Catalan Grand Prix it will be exactly 11 years since Loris Capirossi won the 2003 MotoGP race in Catalunya: Ducati’s first ever win in the premier class

9 - Andrea Iannone’s second place on the grid at Mugello made him the ninth different rider to start from the front row in MotoGP this year (the nine riders are Andrea Dovizioso, Stefan Bradl, Alvaro Bautista, Andrea Iannone, Dani Pedrosa, Bradley Smith, Pol Espargaro, Marc Marquez and Jorge Lorenzo)

6 - Tito Rabat is the only rider to finish in the top four at all of the first six Moto2™ races of the year

6 - Honda have won the last six successive MotoGP races with Marc Marquez; this is the first time that Honda have won six or more successive MotoGP races since 2003

5 - With his win at Mugello, Romano Fenati is the first Italian to take three wins in a single season in the Moto3/125 class since Andrea Iannone in 2009

4 - Just four riders have scored points in all of the first six Moto3™ races of 2014: Alex Rins, Efren Vazquez, Alexis Masbou and Danny Kent

0.65 seconds - The total accumulated time separating the race winners from second place finishers in the six Moto3 races so far in 2014


Other updates you may be interested in ›