Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Final Friday session topped by Aegerter

Final Friday session topped by Aegerter

As Friday’s action at the updated Indianapolis Motor Speedway track drew to a close it was Dominique Aegerter who took the number one spot in Moto2™ FP2, in front of Sandro Cortese and Tito Rabat.

Sachsenring pole setter and race winner Aegerter (Technomag carXpert) showed his strength again to lead by 0.01s from Cortese (Dynavolt Intact GP) with a 1’37.518s best lap around Indy’s modified Grand Prix layout.

Championship leader Rabat (Marc VDS Racing Team) was 0.179s down on Aegerter in third place. Meanwhile Thomas Luthi (Interwetten Paddock Moto2) and Anthony West (QMMF Racing Team) completed the front five.

Simone Corsi (NGM Forward Racing), Maverick Viñales (Paginas Amarillas HP 40), Luis Salom (Paginas Amarillas HP 40), Alex De Angelis (Tasca Racing Moto2) and Jordi Torres (Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2) completed the top ten.

There were crashes in the session for Mattia Pasini (NGM Forward Racing), Ricard Cardus (Tech 3), Axel Pons (AGR Team) and Randy Krummenacher (IodaRacing Project) though none were seriously hurt. Krummenacher’s crash caused a brief red flag as debris was removed from the track, whilst Pasini’s fall saw him visit the Medical Centre for treatment on a finger wound on his left hand. The Italian returned to the track to continue riding before the end of the session.

The Moto2 FP2 results can be viewed in full here.

Moto2, 2014, RED BULL INDIANAPOLIS GRAND PRIX, FP2, Dominique Aegerter, Technomag carXpert

Other updates you may be interested in ›