New to here

Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

The history of Grand Prix racing at Brno

The history of Grand Prix racing at Brno

This year’s bwin Grand Prix České republiky will be the 45th GP to be held at Brno.

Below is a brief history of Grand Prix racing at this famous venue:

- The only venue that has hosted more Grand Prix events than Brno is Assen in The Netherlands, which has hosted the Dutch TT in each of the 66 years of the motorcycling World Championship.

- The first Czechoslovakian Grand Prix was held at Brno in 1965. The 500cc race held over 13 laps of the original 13.94 km long road circuit was won by Mike Hailwood (MV Agusta) in a time of 1hr 11 min 23.2 sec.

- The circuit was shortened to 10.92 km in 1975 in an effort to improve safety.

- The last premier class race held on the road circuit at Brno was in 1977 and was won by Johnny Cecotto riding a Yamaha. The circuit was subsequently considered too dangerous for the large capacity machines.

- The smaller capacity machines continued to compete in Grand Prix races on the Brno road circuit until 1982 before it was removed from the Grand Prix calendar for safety reasons.

- The current circuit was first used for Grand Prix racing in 1987 and hosted the Czechoslovakian GP through until 1991. Brno did not appear on the calendar for 1992, but the event was revived in 1993 as the Grand Prix of the Czech Republic and has taken place every year since.

- This will be the 27th time that the current circuit has hosted a Grand Prix event, during which time the circuit has remained virtually unchanged; minor modifications were made to the circuit in 1996 which extended the length from 5.394 km to the current 5.403 km.

- Since the introduction of the four-stroke MotoGP™ class in 2002, both Yamaha and Honda have had five victories at Brno and Ducati have had two. Honda riders have won at Brno for the last three years, the last Yamaha win was with Jorge Lorenzo in 2010.

- There has only been one podium finish by a Czech rider at the current Brno circuit across all classes – Lukas Pesek’s third place in the 125cc race in 2007 riding a Derbi.

- The best result by a Czech rider in the MotoGP class at the Brno circuit is Karel Abraham’s ninth place finish in 2012.

- The two riders with most Grand Prix wins at the current Brno circuit, each with seven wins, are Max Biaggi (4 x 250cc, 2 x 500cc, 1 x MotoGP) and Valentino Rossi (1x 125cc, 1 x 250cc, 1 x 500cc, 4 x MotoGP).


Other updates you may be interested in ›