Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

How the Moto3 grid will shape up next year

How the Moto3 grid will shape up next year

Following the publication on Thursday of the provisional list of the riders and teams who will compete next year in the Moto3™ World Championship there are plenty of interesting points of note.

With the current top three riders Alex Marquez, Jack Miller and Alex Rins all moving up for 2015 and some new faces coming into the class it’s all change for next season.

In the ranks of Estrella Galicia 0,0, young French talent Fabio Quartararo arrives in Grand Prix racing, with another newcomer from the FIM CEV Repsol Jorge Navarro set to ride alongside him in the team – on Honda machinery.

Italian youngster Stefano Manzi has joined San Carlo Team Italia from the Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Cup to ride a Mahindra, whilst the Rookies Cup champion of 2014 Jorge Martin comes into the Mapfre Aspar Team also to be equipped with the Indian bike. Francesco Bagnaia and Juanfran Guevara will both share the Aspar box with Martin.

Kiefer Racing will run the Honda and have recruited Briton Danny Kent, who is joined in the team by Japanese rider Hiroki Ono. Sky Racing Team VR46 will field Romano Fenati once more, with Andrea Migno alongside him on the KTM, whereas Malaysian rider Zulfahmi Khairuddin will represent the Sepang International Circuit also on a KTM.

Enea Bastianini will ride a Honda for Gresini Racing, whilst Isaac Viñales remains with Calvo Team but will be riding the Husqvarna.

Elsewhere the respected Red Bull KTM Ajo squad will have a new look next year as Portuguese rider Miguel Oliveira and South African Brad Binder come in to join the team, which will field three riders as Czech youngster Karel Hanika continues for 2015. Binder’s brother Daryn will also be on the grid as he replaces Brad at Ambrogio Racing.


Other updates you may be interested in ›