Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Vazquez wins at Sepang as Moto3™ title fight goes on to Valencia

Vazquez wins at Sepang as Moto3™ title fight goes on to Valencia

An enthralling Moto3™ race at the Shell Advance Malaysian Motorcycle Grand Prix saw Efren Vazquez take the win, with Jack Miller and Alex Rins also on the podium. Alex Marquez was fifth and the title battle will rage on in Valencia.

Vazquez (SaxoPrint-RTG) rode brilliantly in the hot conditions at Sepang with an aggressive battle fought at the front, as championship rivals Marquez (Estrella Galicia 0,0) and Miller (Red Bull KTM Ajo) touched several times.

Vazquez was able to cross the line first, for his second win this year and the second of his long career. Miller was second by a 0.213s margin with Rins (Estrella Galicia 0,0) close by in third.

Danny Kent (Red Bull Husqvarna Ajo) and Marquez fought hard on the final lap, with Kent taking fourth. Marquez’s lead at the head of the standings was reduced to 11 points with one round remaining. The Estrella Galicia 0,0 team lodged a protest against Miller following multiple contacts with Marquez during the race and the case will be reviewed by Race Direction after the Moto2™ race.

The top ten was completed by Alexis Masbou (Ongetta-Rivacold), Niccolo Antonelli (Junior Team GO&FUN Moto3), Jakub Kornfeil (Calvo Team), Karel Hanika (Red Bull KTM Ajo) and Enea Bastianini (Junior Team Go&FUN Moto3).

Miguel Oliveira (Mahindra Racing) was the first faller in the race as he battled in the top ten. Andrea Migno (Mahindra Racing) and local hero Zulfahmi Khairuddin (Ongetta-AirAsia) both collided, ending their races. There was another incident involving Scott Deroue (RW Racing GP), Matteo Ferrari (San Carlo Tam Italia) and Hafiza Rofa (SIC-Ajo), with the latter rejoining the race.

Isaac Viñales (Calvo Team) fell as he attempted to chase down the leading group. John McPhee (SaxoPrint-RTG) crashed as he pushed for his first podium.

There were retirements for Jasper Iwema (CIP), Ramdam Rosli (Petrons AHM Malaysia). They were joined in the pits by Niklas Ajo (Avant Tecno Husqvarna Ajo) and Brad Binder (Ambrogio Racing).

Teammates Romano Fenati (SKY Racing Team VR46) and Francesco Bagnaia (SKY Racing Team VR46) also entered the pits with technical problems.

Full Moto3 Sepang race results.


Other updates you may be interested in ›