Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Champions awarded at 2014 FIM Gala

Champions awarded at 2014 FIM Gala

Jerez de la Frontera was the setting on Sunday night as the annual FIM Gala took place. Title winners from numerous FIM series, including the MotoGP™ World Championship, were crowned while the host city became World Capital of Motorcycling for 2015.

With some 500 guests present at the Villamarta theatre in Jerez, the audience was made up of a selection of familiar faces while Masters of Ceremonies were Gavin Emmett and Lisa Leyland for the first time. More than 30 FIM World Champions of 2014 featured on the stage, as well as Jorge Martinez ‘Aspar’ who became the latest rider to be inducted as an FIM Legend.

"It is really special to be here at the FIM Gala, to be presented with the awards and to be here with so many champions," commented MotoGP™ World Champion Marc Marquez. "This year it is even more special for me, as my brother is here as well. I know it will be difficult to repeat this and be here together in the future, but we just have to enjoy the moment and try our best to do it again in future years!"

Dignitaries in attendance included Vito Ippolito, who has just been re-elected to start a third four-year term in office as FIM President, as Jerez was labelled World Capital of Motorcycling for 2015. The prize was collected by María José García-Pelayo, Mayoress of the city which is situated in the Spanish province of Cádiz.

MotoGP, 2014

Other updates you may be interested in ›