MotoGP™ Basics

Back to index


MotoGP™ is the premier motorcycle racing World Championship; an eighteen-race series visiting thirteen countries, four continents and with pan-global television coverage. Ten nationalities of the world’s most skilled riders line a grid armed with cutting-edge motorcycle technology with prototype machinery fielded by three manufacturers; Ducati, Yamaha and Honda.

Established as a World Championship by the FIM (Fédération Internationale de Motocyclisme) in 1949, MotoGP™ is now into its 65th year. It is the oldest motorsports championship in the world and the premier class of three racing classes that take to the track on a typical Grand Prix weekend. Formerly labelled ‘500cc’, the championship underwent a change in 2002 with new technical regulations permitting the introduction of four-stroke machinery and increasing the engine capacity to 990cc, thus becoming MotoGP™. From 2007 the rules were altered, limiting engine capacity to 800cc, and once again from 2012, setting the maximum engine displacement at 1000cc. MotoGP™ has been administrated by commercial rights owners Dorna Sports under the supervision of the FIM since 1992.

MotoGP™ has a rich history with Grand Prix events having taken place in every corner of the world throughout the last 64 years. More than 2.2 million people came through the gates of the circuits to watch MotoGP™ in 2012. Italy, Great Britain, Spain, the USA and Australia are just some of the nationalities that have all totalled high numbers in terms of race victories and world titles, the details of which can be found in the リザルト&統計 section.

As well as the premier class there are also two ultra-competitive World Championship Grand Prix categories, which form part of ‘MotoGP™’. The Moto3™ (formerly 125cc) and Moto2™ (formerly 250cc) World Championships have their own races at each Grand Prix, meaning that by the end of the season three champions are crowned.


On a Grand Prix weekend there is a race in each of MotoGP’s three categories:

  • Moto3™ – The 4-stroke, 250cc, single-cylinder class replaced the 125cc GP category in 2012. The maximum age for riders is 28 (25 for wild-card riders or those newly contracted and competing in a Moto3 for the first time) and the minimum age is 16.
  • Moto2™ – The Moto2™ class replaced the 250cc category from 2010. Honda is the sole engine supplier, and Dunlop provides the tyres. The bikes are powered by a 600cc 4-stroke engine, producing around 140hp, and the design and construction of the chassis is free within the constraints of the FIM Grand Prix Technical Regulations. The main frame, swingarm, fuel tank, seat and fairing/bodywork from a non-prototype (i.e. series production road-homologated) motorcycle may not be used. The minimum age for riders is 16.
  • MotoGP™ – The ultimate test for the finest talents in motorcycle racing, in which the maximum engine capacity is the aforementioned 1000cc (4-stroke engines) and the minimum age for riders is 18.

At selected events the race timetable is augmented further by the Red Bull MotoGP™ Rookies Cup – an initiative designed to unearth future MotoGP™ stars from across the world.

A Grand Prix event takes place over three days, with the first two of those for practice and qualification for each class. MotoGP will have a new qualifying format for 2013, whereby riders will need to qualify for a slot in the top-ten qualifying session by posting competitive times during any of the free practices. A “second-tier” qualifying will take place with the slower riders on Saturday, yet will have the incentive of the top two making it into the top qualifying session shortly after. For Moto2™ and Moto3™ the qualifying format remains the same. The third day is race-day.

MotoGP™ Qualifying explained:

As in previous years, there will be three 45-minute Free Practice sessions, which on a regular race weekend will be held Friday morning and afternoon, as well as Saturday morning. The difference this year will be that the times set in those sessions will count towards Qualifying, with the combined results determining whether a rider will participate in Q1 or Q2.

Q1 will consist of the riders whose times are 11th place and below, and will be a 15-minute session. During this time riders will have the incentive to qualify for Q2, which the two fastest of the session will be able to contest. This will result in 12 riders contesting the final 15-minute Q2 session, to determine the starting order at the front. The riders not in the fastest two places in QP1 will take grid positions 13 and above according to their placement in QP1.

To accommodate for any unforeseen changes or necessary adjustments, there will be a 30 minute Free Practice 4, which will be held before the two Qualifying sessions. This will not be timed, nor count towards which Qualifying a rider will take part in.

  • 1. The three existing sessions of free practice will be unchanged, however, the combined times from those sessions will determine participation in the final qualifying practice.
  • 2. The ten fastest riders will be seeded through to Qualifying Practice 2 (QP2).
  • 3. All other riders will take part in Qualifying Practice 1 (QP1).
  • 4. The fastest two riders in QP1 will progress to QP2, making a total of 12 riders competing for the first 12 grid positions.
  • 5. The riders not in the fastest two places in QP1 will take grid positions 13 and above according to their times in QP1.

After warm-up sessions for each category on race-day, traditionally the smallest category, in this case Moto3™, takes to the track first, with the Moto2™ class following and then finally the MotoGP™ event. This can be subject to change however. Races vary in length between 95-130km and normally last between 40-45 minutes, conforming to a set number of laps, which differs at each track. Pit-stops are rare but permitted, and are especially applicable in changeable weather conditions when riders can enter the pit-lane and switch machines to one fitted with different spec tyres (only MotoGP™).


The current MotoGP™ World Champion is Yamaha Factory Racing’s Jorge Lorenzo, who in 2012 claimed his second premier-class title. The Championship saw Repsol Honda Team’s Dani Pedrosa finish runner-up behind him after some fantastic battles along the way, with Repsol’s Casey Stoner finishing third after an injury-hit last year in MotoGP™ before heading into retirement.

In 2013 the MotoGP™ class will be joined by a selection of new riders – known as Rookies – who will ensure that the level of competition and racing ability remains at an exceptionally high level. 2012 Moto2 champion Marc Márquez moves up to the premier-class, taking Stoner’s vacant seat, with additional rookies Bradley Smith and Andrea Iannone going to the Monster Yamaha Tech 3 and Pramac Racing Team respectively. Also making his MotoGP debut will be Australian Bryan Staring with Go & Fun Honda Gresini’ CRT machine. The list of participants in each Grand Prix is composed of the permanent riders, contracted and nominated by their teams for the whole season, and wildcard entries – who are often local riders. Approximately 21 participants will line up each MotoGP™ race, and about 30 take part in each Moto2™ and Moto3™ race.

Riders from around the globe take part in the World Championships including the following countries: Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Colombia, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Germany, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, the Netherlands, Portugal, Qatar, San Marino, Spain, South Africa, Switzerland, Thailand, UK and USA.

For profiles of every rider from all three Grand Prix categories visit our dedicated ライダー&チーム section.

MotoGP™ also has close links with the Riders for Health charity, which helps health workers in Africa have access to reliable transportation so they can reach the most isolated people with regular and predictable health care.