MotoGP™ Basics

Back to index


Riders and Constructors (manufacturers) compete for respective FIM Road Racing World Championship Grand Prix titles. Teams, meanwhile, compete for a MotoGP™ Team Championship, which is different to the Constructors Championship as there are different teams competing on machinery from the same manufacturer, such as Yamaha Factory Racing and Tech3 Yamaha.

For riders, the points which count towards their World Championship total will be those gained in each race. For Constructors, only the highest placed motorcycle of a Constructor will gain points, according to the position in the race.

Teams in the MotoGP™ class are in principle comprised of two riders. All points scored by both riders in the Team, including substitutes or replacements, will count towards the Team Championship. In the case of a one rider Team, only the points scored by that rider will count towards the Team Championship. Wild card riders will not score points for the Team Championship.

For each race, Championship points will be awarded on the following scale:

  • 1st 25 points
  • 2nd 20 points
  • 3rd 16 points
  • 4th 13 points
  • 5th 11 points
  • 6th 10 points
  • 7th 9 points
  • 8th 8 points
  • 9th 7 points
  • 10th 6 points
  • 11th 5 points
  • 12th 4 points
  • 13th 3 points
  • 14th 2 points
  • 15th 1 point

Results in all races will count for the Championship classification (this was not always the case historically as, for example, the best six results from a ten race season were counted).

In the event of a tie in the number of points, the final positions will be decided on the basis of the number of best results (number of first places, number of second places etc.). In the event that there is still a tie then, the date in the Championship at which the highest place was achieved will be taken into account with precedence going to the latest result.