Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase


Riders and Constructors (manufacturers) compete for respective FIM Road Racing World Championship Grand Prix titles. Teams compete for a MotoGP™ Team Championship, which is different to the Constructors Championship as there are multiple teams competing on machinery from the same manufacturer.

For riders, the points that count towards their World Championship total are those gained in each race. For Constructors, only the highest placed motorcycle of a given Constructor earns points, according to the position in the race.

Teams in the MotoGP™ class are in principle comprised of two riders. All points scored by both riders in the Team, including substitutes or replacements, count towards the Team Championship. In the case of a one rider Team, only the points scored by that rider count towards the Team Championship. Wild card riders do not score points for the Team Championship.

For each race, Championship points will be awarded on the following scale:

1st place = 25 points
2nd place = 20 points
3rd place = 16 points
4th place = 13 points
5th place = 11 points
6th place = 10 points
7th place = 9 points
8th place = 8 points
9th place = 7 points
10th place = 6 points
11th place = 5 points
12th place = 4 points
13th place = 3 points
14th place = 2 points
15th place = 1 points

Results in all races will count for the Championship classification (this was not always the case historically).

In the event of a tie in the number of points, the final positions will be decided on the basis of the number of best results (number of first places, number of second places, etc.). In the event that there is still a tie then, the date in the Championship at which the highest place was achieved will be taken into account-with precedence going to the latest result.